Daily Mirror - Print Edition

Sri Lanka Law College Alumni Association established

10 Apr 2024 - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}      

  • Coincides with college’s 150th anniversary celebrations

By Lakmal Sooriyagoda
In a bid to promote close relations between the Sri Lanka Law College and its alumni, coinciding with the college’s 150th-anniversary celebrations, the Sri Lanka Law College Alumni Association was officially established in 2024. The association’s inaugural meeting was held on April 3, 2024, in the Main Hall of Sri Lanka Law College, with several esteemed alumni in attendance. This marks the first time in the 150-year history of Law College that a formal Alumni Association has been founded.   
Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya and Sri Lanka Law College Principal Dr. Athula Pathinayake were appointed as Patron and Deputy Patron of the Association respectively. Justice Buwaneka Aluwihare PC was appointed as the President of the Association. Attorney-at-Law Poornima Ranawaka and Rajindh Perera were appointed as General Secretary and Treasurer of the newly established Alumni Association.   

Palitha Kumarasinghe PC, representing a group of esteemed alumni, formally requested approval from the Council of Legal Education in November 2023 to establish the Sri Lanka Law College Alumni Association, coinciding with the college’s 150th anniversary celebrations, on the suggestion of the current Principal, Dr. Athula Pathinayake. Following approval, a committee consisting of many Law College alumni diligently prepared the Alumni Association’s constitution.   
The other office bearers of Sri Lanka Law College Alumni Association are as follows. Vice Presidents; Palitha Kumarasinghe PC, Prashantha Lal De Alwis PC, G.G. Arulprgasam, Kushan De Alwis PC and Raj Selvaskandan. Assistant Secretary Yohan Pieris and Assistant Treasurer Nuwan Bopage. The Committee Members T. Amirthalingam, Manujaya De Silva, Sarinda Jayawardena, Ramzi Batcha, Nuwan Jayawardena, Shamith Fernando, Arunie Gunasekara, Dr. Dayani Panagoda and Murshid Maharoff.