Fri, 31 Mar 2023 Today's Paper

Lanka Plate Snooker Tourney Zulfy, Rohana record back-to-back wins


12 August 2019 12:08 am - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


Ahmed Zulfy (Moors SC) in action


By M. Shamil Amit

Ahmed Zulfy of Moors Sports Club (MSC) and Anil Rohana of Automobile Association Club (AAC) recorded back-to-back wins on the second day of the All-Island Lanka Plate Snooker Tournament which continued at the AAC and The Cue Club Billiards Table in Colombo yesterday.

Zulfy defeated Dharnis Mohamed of Kandy and followed it up with another win against S. S. Kumarapperuma of Army.

Meanwhile, Rohana overcame Akram Gazzali also from Kandy and later he had the better of B. J. Samarakoon of Army.

In addition, Army’s M. M. Mubeen, one of the contenders for the title along with his teammates Susantha Wickrama, M. S. Fernando and M. G. C. Chandrasekera, Riyaz Noor (MSC) and Loshaka Perera were the other notable winners.

M. Z. M. Musthaq (Kandy) beat F. Janab (Galle) 58-45, 56-12, 80-40. Ahmed Zulfi (MSC) beat Dharnis Mohamed (Kandy) 65-14, 70-39, 68-29. M. Farhan (Galle) beat Fowmy Fareed (Kelibima) 66-58, 29-57, 56-39, 41-40. M. M. Mubeen (Army) beat M. R. M. Rifkhan (Army) 68-7, 60-35, 68-15. P. Guruge (Galle) beat Anjana Vithanage (Kandy) 72-48, 70-49, 57-61, 81-18. Anil Rohana (AAC) beat Akram Gazzali (Kandy) 72-61, 58-21, 48-63, 68-23. Susantha Wickrama (Army) beat Fouzan Hassan (Kandy) 20-54, 58-51, 58-6, 49-9. M. S. Fernando (Army) beat Hamjad Sally (Kandy) 57-46, 65-7, 50-57, 35-57, 61-31. Riyaz Noor (MSC) beat Prathap Murugesu (Kandy) 5-20, 36-50, 58-35, 67-37. Loshaka Perera (SSC) beat A. Balakrishnan (AAC) 53-16, 53-66, 43-51, 54-36, 66-22. M. I. Farook (MICH) beat M. Farhan (Galle) 78-32, 68-28, 70-44. M. G. C. Chandrasiri (Army) beat P. Guruge (Galle) 60-37, 57-75, 37-8, 46-60, 57-32. M. Abzal (POP) beat E. T. M. Soysa (Army) 32-55, 52-50, 51-40, 54-4. Ihsan Ali (Colombo) beat M. R. T. Chandana (Colombo ‘B’) 58-32, 72-55, 69-27. Hazan Nimeshka (YMBA) beat M. Z. M. Musthafa (Kandy) 51-16, 53-16, 60-48. Ahmed Zulfy (MSC) beat S. S. Kumarapperuma (Army) 60-30, 56-34, 46-38. Rohitha de Silva (BRC) beat Shiyam Hussain (Galle) 51-55, 49-18, 60-18, 51-24. Anil Rohana (AAC) beat B. J. Samarakoon (Army) 58-23, 60-27, 51-26.

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

Import of South Indian eggs: Sri Lanka walks on Indian eggshells

With the increase in egg prices the government decided to import eggs to regu

Wokeism: Is it destructive, or are you afraid of change? A response

In order to critically discuss a movement, we must first understand its etymo

Defeat in Ananthapuram Battle denoted the LTTE’s end

Many battles were fought during the long war between the Sri Lankan armed for

Wokeism: A Weapon of Mass Destruction?

When can one say they’ve had enough of being in a state of ‘wokeness’ a