SYDNEY: A five-ball over during the ODI between India and Sri Lanka may have caused a lot of controversy but the ICC and Cricket Australia sought to play down the incident.
The ICC dismissed the incident as "a straightforward, honest mistake by the umpiring team."
Cricket Australia took a similar stance. "International umpires, like international players, perform to a high level but like players, they are human and make mistakes from time to time. But once a decision is made, it's made and we get on with the game," a CA spokesperson was quoted as saying by The Daily Telegraph.
However India's refusal to accept DRS was also seen as a reason for this glaring error.
According to newspaper, "...communications between the host broadcaster, the third umpire in the stands and the on-field umpires are greatly reduced when the DRS (decision review system) is not in operation."
The match was tied, with both teams finishing on 9-236 after Indian captain M.S. Dhoni hit three off the final ball.
However, in a rare and internationally embarrassing incident, Lasith Malinga bowled only five balls in the 30th over of India's innings.
The on-field umpires Simon Fry and Nigel Llong, video umpire Bruce Oxenford, match referee Andy Pycroft and the players on the field, failed to realise that India had been duded as it attempted a third successive victory in the tri-series. (Source:The Times of India)
Not only that even umpiring also not to standard. Gambir was out LBW fpr :Lasith Malinga but umpire turn down the appeal
Fayad Thursday, 16 February 2012 05:04 AM
If it was done by a Asian or an African umpiring team with the match referee it becomes a major issue. Also i would like to comment on DRS If the ball is clipping the leg stump & if the umpire give out it stays as out. if he doesn't give out and still clipping the the leg-stump stays as not out no consistency. if any part of the ball is hitting the stump it should be out.
sam Thursday, 16 February 2012 04:54 AM
the both team took the chance of 50-50 one the singleout, lanka team would have taken a wicket in that ball or given runs
Nodrog Thursday, 16 February 2012 05:24 AM
What would be the reaction if Australia was involved?
LALITH Thursday, 16 February 2012 01:32 PM
This mistake was very simple! How about the plum LBW decision against Gambir was not given when Herath was bowling? Even the telecasters was not bother to show the HAWK EYE when they saw on hotspot that the ball had not touched the bat but only the pad!. Who is there to answer for this? Even SL captain did not want to upset Indian Team by putting it out as an error which caused a severe effect towards the win & loss for SL.
Findhu Thursday, 16 February 2012 02:00 PM
Malinga could have taken a wicket in the sixth ball missed in that over.
senna Thursday, 16 February 2012 06:21 AM
All these issues contributed SL 's defeat. India must Respect DRS system.
Fayad Thursday, 16 February 2012 06:36 AM
That why India do not want the DRS, its worse when the matches are held in India.
Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.