Eight female candidates gain access to Parliament

8 August 2020 12:03 am - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


Eight female candidates have been successful in entering the upcoming parliament while there were nearly 59 female representatives who received nominations to contest the Parliamentary Election 2020.

Accordingly, Sudarshani Fernandopulle polled 89,329 votes while Kokila Harshani received 77,922 from the Gampaha District representing the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP). From the Malate District Rohini Kumari Kaviratne polled 27,587 votes representing the Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) while Geetha Kumarasinghe received 63,358 votes representing the SLPP in the Galle district.

Pavithara Wanniarachchi of the SLPP topped the preferential votes list in the Ratnapura District with 200,977 votes while Muditha Prishanthi of the SLPP polled 65,923 votes. Talatha Athukorala of the SJB representing the same district received 45,105 votes.

Rajika Wickremasinghe of the SLPP polled 68,802 preferential votes from the Kegalle District.

In the 2015 Parliament there were 12 female legislators and the previous women’s representation in Parliament was 5.8%. (Yoshitha Perera)


  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

The 20th Amendment Bill Lest We Forget

Strident calls were repeatedly made from many quarters for the 19th Amendment

Public transport 'side-laned'?

“Miss, mantheeru neethiya nisa api bus passen yanna one. Ithin drop eka par

Land acquisitions in Hanthana and Knuckles Mountain ranges

Sri Lankans will soon lose their opportunity to boast about the rich biodiver

Wanathawilluwa forest clearance: Whodunit?

Days after the Anawilundawa Ramsar Wetland, situated in Puttalam District, ma