Sri Lanka Cricket has decided to hold an inquiry against Chamara Kapugedara—the stand in skipper for the third ODI Pallekele after he had gone against the team’s decision to field first in case of winning the toss.
With India winning the first two matches, Sri Lanka had to win the third ODI in order to keep the series alive and with skipper Upul Tharanga ruled out with a two-match ban for slow-rate Kapugedara was handed reins to lead the side.
The team management along with selectors had decided to chase in case of winning the toss in the must-win game and clear instructions had given to the skipper. However Kapugedara did the opposite after winning the toss as he decided to bat first.
“We have decided to call him up for an inquiry,” said a SLC officials. “After the incident he had apologized to the team but it was a costly mistake. After batting first Sri Lanka were restricted for 217 runs in their 50 overs. India reached the target for the loss of six wickets to take an inaccessible 3-0 lead in the series.
Kapugedera will not make any part in the rest of the tournament as he is ruled out with a back injury.