Dambulla continue winning spree

3 April 2023 11:36 pm - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


By M. Shamil Amit

Dambulla continued their winning spree when they recorded their seventh win of the ongoing National Super League limited overs tournament with a 34-run win on the Duckworth/Lewis method over Jaffna in the match played at the P Sara Stadium today.

Jaffna taking first lease of the wicket made a modest score of 233 and Dambulla in their turn were 186 for 4 having faced 37 overs when the match was called off due to bad light with the required target at stoppage being 153 runs.

Kandy too prevailed with a Duckworth/Lewis win 48 runs over Colombo in another match of the same tournament played at the R. Premadasa Stadium.

Kandy in pursuit of 272 runs for victory were on 244 for 4 having faced 40.3 overs when play was stopped due to bad light with the required target being 198 runs at stoppage.


At P Sara Stadium – Dambulla won by 34 runs on D/L

Jaffna 233 in 46.2 overs (Ravindu Fernando 100, Nishan Madushka 20, Kasun Abeyratne 18, Jeffrey Vandersay 18, Dilum Sudeera 16: Asitha Fernando 3 for 31, Lahiru Samarakoon 3 for 41, Nuwan Thushara 2 for 41, Dushan Hemantha 2 for 43)

Dambulla 186 for 4 in 37 overs (Sonal Dinusha 38, Pavan Ratnayake 107 n.o.)

At R. Premadasa Stadium – Kandy won by 48 runs on D/L

Colombo 271 for 7 in 50 overs (Ashen Bandara 99, Nipun Dhananjaya 62, Dushan Vimukthi 31, Sachitha Jayatileke 15, Isitha Wijesundara 19 n.o.: Nipun Ransika 3 for 32, Amshi de Silva 2 for 59)

Kandy 244 for 4 in 40.3 overs (Niroshan Dickwella 103, Sandun Weerakkody 32, Oshada Fernando 19, Lahiru Udara 53 n.o., Ahan Wickramasinghe 26 n.o.: Udith Madushan 2 for 27) 


  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment