Mathews appointed captain for WT20

2016-03-08 11:07:03

Angelo Mathews has been appointed as the Captain for the ICC WT20 series while Dinesh Chandimal has been appointed as the Vice Captain by Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) today.

Lasith Malinga who stepped down from the T20 captaincy yesterday was included to the T20 squad by the SLC select committee.

Niroshan Dickwella and Jeffrey Vandersay have been replaced by Lahiru Thirimanna and Suranga Lakmal.

The Sri Lanka Squad consists of Angelo Mathews (C) Dinesh Chandimal (VC), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Dushmantha Chameera,   Rangana Herath, Shehan Jayasuriya,  Chamara Kapugedera,  Nuwan Kulasekara, Lahiru Thirimanne, Suranga Lakmal, Thisara Perera,  Sachithra Senanayake,  Dasun Shanaka,    Milinda Siriwardana and  Lasith Malinga.


Video by Buddhi


Video by Amantha

  Comments - 5

  • Nazlan Tuesday, 8 March 2016 11:25

    Finally good move... Middle order will be strong with Thirimanna inclusion...

    Reply : 1       1

    Suranga Tuesday, 8 March 2016 11:27

    Not the perfect xi. But good that we managed to include Thirimanna and Suranga. Its a far better option than Vandy and Dikwella.

    Reply : 0       2

    Satha Tuesday, 8 March 2016 11:38

    My dear Lasith Malinga you are World class cricketer however it is high time reduce your weight.

    Reply : 1       1

    kaboos Tuesday, 8 March 2016 11:57

    same old drugs with different label, the end result will be what experienced in recently concluded Asia cup. . Mathews will come out with lame excuses with full of match fees. we spectators are the looses.

    Reply : 1       1

    samitha silva Tuesday, 8 March 2016 12:33

    Lasith Malinga - To my Knowledge he is troubling with knee injury during Asia Cup. How can he fit enough to play T 20 world cup. What A recovery ?

    Reply : 1       1

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.
Name is required

Email is required
Comment cannot be empty