Tue, 21 May 2024 Today's Paper

Uttara Lanka Sabhagaya - newest political alliance

5 September 2022 08:45 am - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


  • Diplomats from the missions of China, India, Cuba, Vietnam, Iran and Russia attended the event
  • Wimal, Udaya, Vasu among  its leaders 

 The collective of the political parties that broke ranks with the ruling Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) launched their new political alliance called ‘ Uttara Lanka Sabhagaya’. The alliance was launched at a function held at the Maharagama National Youth Service Council. National Freedom Front (NFF) Leader MP Wimal Weerawansa is the chairman of the new party. Communist Party’s Dr. G. Weerasinghe is its Secretary . MP Vasudeva Nanayakkara is its National Organizer. MPs Udaya Gammanpila and Prof. Tissa Vitharana are its deputy chairmen.  MP Gevindu Cumaratunga has been appointed the deputy secretary of the new alliance. Ven. Athuraliye Rathana Thera is the patron.

 Matara District MP Dulles Alahapperuma who leads the group of MPs who defected from the government and sat in the opposition attended the function to mark the launch of the latest alliance. Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) also sent its member Thilanga Sumathipala to the event.


  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment