Kolkata Knight Riders win IPL 2024 to clinch third title

Kolkata Knight Riders won their third IPL title, beating SunRisers Hyderabad by eight wickets in the IPL 2024 final at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on Sunday.

12 years after winning their first title at the same venue against the Chennai Super Kings, KKR, led by Shreyas Iyer, thumped SRH in a one-sided contest.

After Sunrisers skipper Pat Cummins opted to bat first on a red-soil surface, Kolkatastruck early with Mitchell Starc and Vaibhav Arora removing their deadly openers. While Starc castled Sharma in the first over, Arora dismissed the deadly Head for a third duck in four innings before KKR seized complete momentum.

SRH were reduced to 113 in 18.3 overs – the lowest score in an IPL final – before the Knights romped home in a breezy chase. Led by Venkatesh Iyer’s quickfire fifty in 24 balls, KKR trumped Sunrisers for the third time this season.


  Comments - 13

You May Also Like