Thu, 23 May 2024 Today's Paper

Women's T20 World Cup 2024

Groups, fixtures revealed for Women’s T20 World Cup 2024

5 May 2024 02:10 pm - 2     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


May 5 (ICC) - Six-time champions Australia will commence their ICC Women's T20 World Cup campaign against a qualifier as the groups and fixtures for this year's event in Bangladesh were revealed on Sunday, 5 May.

Australia won a record sixth title against hosts South Africa in Cape Town last year and have been drawn alongside 2020 runners-up India, Trans-Tasman rival New Zealand, Asian side Pakistan and a qualifier team in Group A for the ninth edition of the event that will be held in Bangladesh in October.

South Africa and England are placed alongside 2016 champions West Indies, hosts Bangladesh and a second qualifier in Group B.

Each side will play four group matches at the tournament, with the top two teams from each group progressing to the cut-throat semi-finals on 17 and 18 October ahead of the Final in Dhaka on 20 October.

In total, there will be 23 matches played across 19 days in Dhaka and Sylhet, with reserve days in place for both semi-finals and the final should they be required.

  • Group A: Australia, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Qualifier 1
  • Group B: South Africa, England, West Indies, Bangladesh, Qualifier 2

  Comments - 2

  • Wellhellmina Sunday, 05 May 2024 04:24 PM

    My gut feeling is that the best Qualifier is going to be champions.

    Fullmina - Delhi Monday, 06 May 2024 05:39 AM

    Wellhellmina, If it is so, there is an international conspiracy.

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment