Mon, 29 Nov 2021 Today's Paper

Fifty seven schools to take part in Under 19 Division Three tournament

11 February 2021 12:00 am - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


By M. Shamil Amit  

Fifty seven schools will take part in Division Three of the Under-19 inter-schools cricket tournament conducted by the Sri Lanka Schools Cricket Association (SLSCA) which is scheduled to be worked off from March 20.  

The fifty seven teams have been divided into ten groups and teams in seven groups will play five matches, while three groups which comprise of five teams who will each play four matches.  

The SLSCA this year was compelled to postpone the traditional two-day tournament and a decision was made to conduct a 50-over tournament after the completion of the GCE Ordinary examinations which is scheduled to end on March 13.  

The league matches are scheduled to be played on March 20, 25, 30, April 4 and 9. The quarter-finals are scheduled to be on or before April 20 while the semi-finals on or before April 25 and the final is slotted to be played on or before April 30.  

The Teams and Groups:  

Group A- Carey, Karunaratne Buddhist College Ragama, Ananda Sastralaya Kotte, St. John’s Nugegpga, CWW Kannangara MMV Borella, Lyceum IS Nugegoda.
Group B- Rajasinghe Central Hanwella, Methodist High School Moratuwa, Mahinda NS Homagama, S. de .S. Jayasinghe MMV Dehiwala, President’s Kotte, Homagama MMV.
Group C- St. Thomas Kotte, De La Salle Mutwal, Harischandra NS Negombo, Bandaranayake MMV Veyangoda, Loyala College Kochchikade, St. Joseph’s Enderamulla.
Group D- Nalanda Boys Schools Minuwangoda, St. Xavier’s Marawila, Sri Pangnananda MV Raddoluwa, Sandalanka Central, Maliyadeva Model School Kurunegala, Sir John Kotalawala MV Kurunegala.

Group E- Sri Palle MV Horana, Prince College Ratnapura, Lyceum IS Panadura, St. Mary’s Matugama, Ananda Sastralaya Matugama, Pothuwila MV Payagala.
Group F- Skandavarodya College Jaffna, Jaffna Central, Jaffna Hindu College, Hindu College Kokuvil, St. Pathrick’s Jaffna.
Group G- CWW Kannangara MMV Matugama, Gamini NS Bentota, Siddhartha MMV Balapitiya, Welapura MV Kalutara, Ananda Central Elpitiya.
Group H- St. Thomas’ Bandarawela, Bandarawela Central, Badulla MMV, Ananda Maithreeya NS Balangoda, St. Aloysius Ratnapura, Royalo Monaragala.
Group J- Vidylaoka MV Galle, Vijitha Central Dickwella, Wanduramba Central, Madampa MMV Kuleegoda, Debarawewa NS.
Group K- Nugawela Central, Wayamba Royal Kurunegala, Ibbagamuwa Central, Azhar College Akurana, Sri Sumangala Kandy, Royal Polonnaruwa.

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

Focus on Laggala Gem mining big shots bigger than the law

The truth is now being uncovered regarding an illegal mining racket in state

How and why the TNA was formed twenty years ago

The Tamil National Alliance (TNA) is now twenty years of age. The premier pol

India lays emphasis on culture diplomacy with Sri Lanka

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi wanted to inaugurate the Kushinagar Inter

Bittersweet memories of a ‘City that never slept’

At the heart of Eastern Province lies a now abandoned ghost town punctuated w