Mon, 06 Dec 2021 Today's Paper

Parliamentary Council approves new PUCSL members

3 February 2021 09:22 pm - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


The Parliamentary Council has approved the members to be appointed to the Public Utilities Commission of Sri Lanka (PUCSL) in terms of the Public Utilities Commission of Sri Lanka Act.

Accordingly, Janaka Ratnayake has been approved to serve as the Chairman of the Commission while Chathurika Wijesinghe, Mohan Samaranayake, Udeni Wickramasinghe and Prof. Janaka Ekanayake have been approved as the members by the majority of the Parliamentary Council members.

The approval was granted when the names were presented before the Parliamentary Council meeting held today (03) under the patronage of Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena.

Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa, Leader of the Opposition Sajith Premadasa, Minister of Fisheries Douglas Devananda and MP Kabir Hashim along with the Secretary General of Parliament Dammika Dasanayake were present at the Parliamentary Council meeting.(AS)

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

A Sri Lankan giving dignified burials to unclaimed bodies for five decades

After their death, most people are memorialized at a service, surrounded by g

Focus on Laggala Gem mining big shots bigger than the law

The truth is now being uncovered regarding an illegal mining racket in state

How and why the TNA was formed twenty years ago

The Tamil National Alliance (TNA) is now twenty years of age. The premier pol

India lays emphasis on culture diplomacy with Sri Lanka

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi wanted to inaugurate the Kushinagar Inter