Colombo, Galle clash for the Provincial title

29 April 2017 08:18 am - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


The curtains of the Super Provincial limited over tournament will come down with the final clash for the title between Colombo and Galle scheduled to be played under floodlights at the R. Premadasa Stadium today.

It will be interesting to see who will come out the winner as both teams have played each other on two occasions earlier in the first and second round matches and having a win each.

The two teams also have the cream of first class players comprising of the past, present and future stars of Sri Lanka which will make the clash much more interesting and challenging.

Colombo led by Dinesh Chandimal has had fluctuated fortunes in the run up to today’s final. They started the campaign with a tied match against Dambulla before going down to Galle and came back to beat Kandy in the last first round match.

They had a successful second round outing, where they won all three matches against Galle, Dambulla and Kandy whom they defeated for the second time in their last second round encounter which ensured them the final berth.

Galle led by Upul Tharanga on the other hand lost two matches in the first round stage against Kandy in the first match and Dambulla with a win in between against Colombo.

They began the second round stage with a loss to Colombo but bounced back to record back to back wins against Kandy and Dambulla where match they posted a mammoth 362 runs to qualify to the final.

The Teams:

Colombo - Dinesh Chandimal (Captain),  Lahiru Thirimanne, Dilshan Munaweera,  Kithuruwan Vithanage,  Ashan Priyanjan, Angelo Perera, Shehan Jayasuriya,  Wanindu Hasaranga, Thisara Perera,  Kasun Madushanka, Dushmantha Chameera,  Vishva Fernando,  Sachithra Senanayake, Jeffrey Vandasay,  Alankara  Asanka.

Galle - Upul Tharanga (Captain),  Dimuth Karunaratne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dhananjaya de Silva,  Sammu Ashan,  Yasoda Lanka, Minod Banuka, Malinda Pushpakumara, Chathuranga de Silva,  Seekuge Prasanna, Suranga Lakmal, Vikum Sanjaya, Dasun Shanaka,  Akila Dananjaya, Chamika Karunaratne.

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

Parliamentary election After SC verdict, need 70 days to finalise preparations: EC

The Elections Commission (EC) said it would require 70 days to hold the elect

Will sue those who flout social distancing etiquette: DIG

Legal action will be taken against those who fail to maintain social distanci

Rigid mechanism to ensure safety of schoolchildren: Alahapperuma

When schools reopen, a comprehensive and rigid mechanism will be in place to

SLT clarifies situation regarding recent cyber-attack

Sri Lanka Telecom today said that they have detected an attempt of a cyber-at