Wijeya Newspapers emerge champions

2017-12-11 09:11:49

Wijeya Newspapers won the Championship Trophy at the Media Friendship Cup Cricket Tournament organised by Dialog and GroupM and worked off at the P. Sara Oval on Saturday (9).

A total of 48 teams representing the print and digital media organisations joined the seven-a-side cricket tournament that was worked off on a knock-out basis.

Wijeya Newspapers came on top of Group ‘C’ after defeating MTV, Wijeya Vikings, Kesari Thalaivas and Mawbima before they quailed to meet the Independent Television Network (ITN) in the final.  

The final was reduced to a three-over-a-side match due to bad light and batting first, the ITN scored nine runs.

Wijeya Newspapers successfully chased down the target and finished on 10 for no loss to claim the trophy. ITN emerged runners-up while Mawbima and Derana shared the second runners-up trophy. 

Darshana Sanjeewa of Wijeya Newspapers was named Best Bowler of the Tournament while the Man-of-the-Series Award went to Sanjeewa of the ITN.

The champion Wijeya Newspapers Cricket Team included Darshana Sanjeewa (Captain), Thilina Weerawansa, Chandana Bandara, Jaliya Wanasinghe, Prasanna Perera, Thilina Maduranga, Ranjan Srinath, Channa Kassapa, Ashan Pathiraja, Anuja Kumarathunga, Gayani Kaluarachchi, Ishan Chatura (Coach) and Saman Jayathilake (Manager).

Pix by Indraratne Balasuriya

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.
Name is required

Email is required
Comment cannot be empty