Murali to be inducted during champions trophy - first sri lankan in icc hall of fame

20 April 2017 10:25 am - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


Spin great Muttiah Muralitharan who becomes the first Sri Lankan to be inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame will be formally inducted during the ICC Champions Trophy in June.

Accordingly, he will be inducted during Sri Lanka’s second match against India at The Oval on June 8.

Murali was given the option of being inducted during the recent Bangladesh tour, the ICC Champions Trophy or the home series against India and the world record holder had opted for the Champions Trophy which will be played in England. “It gives us immense sense of pride that Murali is receiving this highest honour. We are proud of him and the glory he has brought to cricket in Sri Lanka. His illustrious career demonstrates that he belongs to this highly prestigious group,” CEO of Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) Ashley de Silva said yesterday.

Muralitharan will be joined by former Australia Captain Karen Rolton, Arthur Morris of Don Bradman’s ‘invincibles’ and George Lohmann, the 19th century fast bowler who took 100 wickets in just 16 Tests.

They will be presented with commemorative caps honouring their contribution to the game with family members representing Lohmann and Morris at the presentations.

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson congratulated the four, saying: “The ICC Cricket Hall of Fame recognises some of the truly great players from cricket’s long and illustrious history, and this year’s inductees thoroughly deserve to be in this highly prestigious group.

“Muralitharan has been one of the greats of the modern era. His guile and consistency over the years helped Sri Lanka develop as a very competitive side in both Tests and ODI cricket.” Muralitharan, whose last international fixture was the World Cup final in 2011, finished his career with 800 wickets in Tests, 534 in ODIS and 13 wickets in 12 Twenty20is.

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

Kenneth De Zilwa to head Central Bank’s FSSCC

Senior economist Dr. Kenneth De Zilwa has been invited to take over the Chair

New Parliament must comply with COVID-19 guidelines: Dr. Jasinghe

Parliament heads and Director General of Health Services Dr. Anil Jasinghe ye

Group of SJB members will join UNP after polls: Akila

A group of Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) candidates will join the UNP after th

PC polls before end of this year: GL

The Provincial Council (PC) Elections which has been delayed for several year