Lyceum Wattala retains overall title

2018-02-26 15:24:27

By Susil Premalal

Lyceum International School Wattala (LISW) retained the overall title for the third successive year at the 18th International Schools Athletics Championships (ISAC) which concluded at the Mahinda Rajapaksa Sports Complex in Diyagama on Sunday (25).

LISW finished with a total of 39 Gold Medals, 33 Silver Medals and 21 Bronze Medals.

Gateway College Colombo (GCC) emerged runners-up for the third successive year with a total of 22 Gold Medals, 18 Silver medals and 25 Bronze Medals.

Lyceum International School Nugegoda (LISN) were placed third with a total of 19 Gold Medals, 17 Silver Medals and 18 Bronze Medals.

Meanwhile, Chenuka Kasturiarachchi of GCC was named as the Best Athlete in the Boys’ category while Randi Himasha Cooray also from GCC was named as the Best Athlete in the Girls’ category.

Chenuka put up a fine performance to win the Boys’ Under-20 high jump with an effort of 2.00 metres while Randi clinched the Girls’ Under-20 triple jump with an effort of 12.39 metres which was in fact the Best Performance of the Meet.

Over 1,500 athletes from 25 schools participated in this meet in five age group categories.

Professor Mohan de Silva, Chairman, University Grants Commission was the Chief Guest.

Challenge Trophies:

Under-12 Girls’: Shenali Bastian (LISW) 30 Points
Under-12 Boys’ Champion: Dunitha Pothupitiya (LISR) 30 Points
Under-12 Overall champions: LISW-74 Points
Under-14 Girls’ champion: Kenarl Gamage (LISW) 26 Points
Under-14 Boys’ champion: Venura de Alwis (GCC) 26 Points
Under-14 Overall champions: LISW - 114 Points
Under-16 Girls’ champion: Dulyana Suludagoda (LISN) 24 Points 
Under-16 Boys’ champion: Navin Perera (LISW) 30 Points
Under-16 Overall champions: LISW - 166 Points
Under-18 Girls’ champion: Sadeepa Henderson (GCC) 28 Points
Under-18 Boys’ champion: Dimuthu Lakshan Perera (LISW) 20 Points, Kavindu Bandara (LISN) 20 Points, Lahiru Krishan (LISW) 20 Points, Ginura Gunarathne (LISN) 20 Points Under-18 Overall champions: GCC 176 Points,
Under-20 Girls’ champion: Randi Cooray (GCC) 30 points, Sharmila Jan (GCC) 30 points, Under-20 Boys’ champion: Mohamed Aroos (LISN) 28 points, Udesh Ranasinghe (GCC) 28 Points 
Under-20 overall champion: LISW - 280 Points
Overall relay champions: LISW 150 Points

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.
Name is required

Email is required
Comment cannot be empty