Last Updated : 2019-01-22 16:20:44

Apps Advertising Home Delivery Feedback

Dinara Bandara shatters 10-year-old record

3 October 2018 10:52 am - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


By Susil Premalal

Dinara Bandara of Alethea International School Dehiwala stole the limelight on the second day of the All-Island School Games 34th Athletics Championships continued at the Sugathadasa Stadium in Colombo yesterday (02).

Dinara had the satisfaction of erasing a 10 year old record as she raced to victory in the Girls’ Under-16, 100 metres final with a record time of 12.65 seconds.

The previous record of 12.67s was set by Akshana Maralanda of Mahamaya College, Kandy in 2008 and it was also equalled by Sandeepa Henderson of Gateway College, Rajagiriya last year.

Altogether, 11 new meet records were established on the second day while bringing the total number of records to 14.

Those who entered the record books on day two were Rasni Ahmed (Ul Irshan MMV Polgahawela), Rumesh Tharanga (St. Peter’s Bambalapitiya), H. M. I. Bandara (Vijayaba NS Mahawa), Milani Romeka (Ave Maria Convent, Negombo), K. Kurukulasuriya (Buddhist Ladies’ College, Colombo) and Milani Bendarage (Gamini MMV Benthara).

Meanwhile, Western Province took an early lead in the overall championship with a tally of 380 points.

They were followed by Central Province (120) and North Western Province (95).

New meet records


100m Under-16: Rasni Ahmed (Ul Irshan MMV, Polgahawela) 11.6s.

Discus Throw Under-16: Rumesh Tharanga (St. Peter’s College, Bambalapitiya) 55.58m.

Shot Put Under-18: H. M. I. L. Bandara (Vijayaba NS, Mahawa) 15.67m.

100m Under-14: Ayesh Mihiranga (Widyawardena MV Hennethota) 11.26s.

1,500m Under-18: W. W. P. M. B. Wijeratne (Anurudda Kumara NS, Nawalapitiya) 4:06s.


Long Jump Under-14: Milani Romeka (Ave Maria Convert, Negombo) 5.07m.

Shot Put Under-14: K. Kurukulasooriya (Budhist Ladies’ College, Colombo) 10.05m.

100m Under-16: Dinara Bandara (Alethea International School, Dehiwala) 12.65s.

100m Under-12: Baghya Dewmini (Wijeya Katupotha MV, Chilaw) 13.88s.

200m Under-16: K. S. Edirisinghe (President’s College Nawala) 25.68s.

100m Under-18: Milani Bendarage (Gamini MMV Benthara) 12.27s. 

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

Singling out of Rishad Bathiudeen as a political target

The orchestrated political campaign by the Mahinda Rajapaksa-led opposition i

TWISTS AND TURNS in the Dr. Shafi controversy

The sterilization charges against Dr. Seigu Shihabdeen Mohamed Shafi from the

Islamic State in Iraq and Syria (ISIS) An in-depth look at ISIS

As the people and Government of Sri Lanka reel with shock and grief in the wa

Mahela declines to be part of Sri Lankan team Management at cricket World Cup

Weeks after guiding Mumbai Indians to their fourth IPL title--his second in t