Sachithra to undergo intense coaching

14 July 2014 05:38 am - 3     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

A A A

Sri Lanka's cricket authorities decided to send off-spinner Sachithra Senanayake for intense coaching after the International Cricket Council (ICC) ruled his bowling action illegal and banned him from international matches.
 
Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) secretary Nishantha Ranatunga said the coaching team was being asked to study reports from the ICC and take corrective action.
The ICC told the SLC on Saturday that it investigated a complaint following a Sri Lankan victory over England at Lord's in May and concluded that Senanayake used an illegal bowling action.
 
"The ICC confirmed that an independent test had found the bowling action of... Senanayake to be illegal and, as such, the player has been suspended from bowling in international cricket," the ICC said in a statement a day after SLC announced the ban.
 
Ranatunga said Sri Lanka was abiding by the ICC decision, but was also moving to address any problems with Senanayake's bowling and take corrective steps so that he could return to international cricket.
 
"If there is anything to be corrected with his bowling action, we want to do it and get him to play as soon as possible," Ranatunga told AFP. "We want to rectify any problem."
 
Senanayake, who twice recorded career-best figures in the Royal London series, was reported by umpires Ian Gould and Marais Erasmus during a one-day international series that Sri Lanka won.
 
Sri Lanka Cricket chiefs had earlier defended Senanayake, saying that he had over the past two years played many bilateral ICC tournaments without a hint of suspicion. But they made it clear Sunday that they were not confronting the ICC decision.
 
Senanayake has played in 39 ODIs and taken 40 wickets while conceding 1,393 runs. He played one Test match against Pakistan but took no wickets. He also played 17 T20 matches and took 18 wickets for 300 runs.

Related link
Sachithra banned from bowling by ICC

  Comments - 3

  • rosebud Monday, 14 July 2014 10:26 PM

    Just wondering if England had won the match would he have been reported As I said JUST WONDERING via DM Android App

    unchikun Monday, 14 July 2014 06:10 AM

    Dr.White and Mahinda can sort this out, no fuss.

    Azee Tuesday, 15 July 2014 04:36 AM

    May be ICC didnt like his non-stop grazing. via DM Android App


Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment




Public transport 'side-laned'?

“Miss, mantheeru neethiya nisa api bus passen yanna one. Ithin drop eka par

Land acquisitions in Hanthana and Knuckles Mountain ranges

Sri Lankans will soon lose their opportunity to boast about the rich biodiver

Wanathawilluwa forest clearance: Whodunit?

Days after the Anawilundawa Ramsar Wetland, situated in Puttalam District, ma

‘I’m scared to see her face’

On August 13, a woman happened to meet a child who was in desperate need of h