Election Commission, Other Commissions to get new members this month?

The Constitutional Council (CC) is planning to finalize the appointments of members to the independent commissions including the Election Commission before the end of this month, a top source said.

The CC, a parliamentary body headed by Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardane, called for applications to select nominees to the commissions in keeping with the 21st Amendment to the Constitution. The source said the applications are sorted out for the selection of candidates at the moment.

“New commission members are to be appointed within the course of this month,” the source said on condition of anonymity.

The commissions to be constituted are the Election Commission, the National Delimitation Commission, the Police Commission, the Public Service Commission, the Human Rights Commission, the Finance Commission, the National Audit Services Commission, the National Procurement Commission and the Bribery Commission. (Kelum Bandara)

  Comments - 9

You May Also Like