Gayan claims overall lead after stage-4

7 September 2018 11:00 pm - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


By Sandun Kidithuwakku reporting from Anuradhapura

Sri Lanka Army Cyclist Gayan Kumara took the overall lead after the completion of the fourth-stage of the SLT Speedup Cycle Sawariya worked off from Mahiyangana to Anuradhapura on Friday (7).

Kumara returned a time of five hours 27.30 seconds.

Meanwhile, Isuru Tharanaga from Sri Lanka Ports Authority (SLPA) returned a time of five hours 27.38s and was placed second.

Sadaruwan Pinto from Sri Lanka Army returned a time of five hours 27.38s and finished in third place.

The stage-one started from Mahiyangana on its way to Dambulla and continued with stage-two from Dambulla to Anuradhapura.

The riders proceeded through Hasalaka, Ududumbara, Hunnasgiriya, Victoria Junction, Teldeniya, Kandy, Katugastota, Matale and reached Dambulla covering a distance of 140km.

In the second-stage, the riders proceeded through Dambulla, Kekirawa, Maradankadawala, Matale Juntion, Jaffna Junction and finished at Anuradhapura.

Meanwhile, in a remarkable turn of events, SLPA rider Iran Ramesh was crowned ‘Mountain King’ being the first to pass the iconic landmark at Haputale.

Tomorrow (8) final stage will be from Anuradhapura to Kuliyapitiya (140.8km). 

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment