Court prevents planned protest in Colombo     Follow

The Fort Magistrate has issued an order preventing 24 persons, including Duminda Nagamuwa, Mujibur Rahman and Hirunika Premachandra of the Samagi Jana Balawegaya, and Parliamentarians Charitha Herath and Vasudeva Nanayakkara of the Freedom People's alliance, from entering certain areas and roads in Colombo till 6.00 pm today.

The Fort Police informed the Fort Magistrate that a group of protestors was planning to hold a protest march from the Fort Railway Station, which they said could cause inconvenience to the public and motorists.

Accordingly, the OIC of the Fort Police has requested the Magistrate to issue an order preventing the protest march.

The Magistrate ordered the protestors not to enter the President's Office, President's House, Finance Ministry premises, the Central Bank, Police Headquarters, Olcott Mawatha between Fort Railway Station and CTO Junction, Lotus Road from CTO Junction to NSA Roundabout, York Street, Bank Road, Chatham Street and Galle Face Green area and not to block the roads, thereby causing inconvenience to the public and motorists.

  Comments - 15

You May Also Like