Sun, 14 Apr 2024 Today's Paper


2 July 2022 06:01 am - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


Award Winners with MP Eran Wickremaratne and Dr. Sulochana Segera


On the 18th of June 2022, over two-hundred regional and global business leaders and inspirational female icons from all walks of life attended the 12th edition of the Women in Management Top50 Global Conference and Awards in Dubai. 

The event was held in the UAE for the first time, and the theme was ‘Resilience and Reinvention.’ This theme was discussed at length during the conference by several globally renowned entrepreneurs, corporate leaders, celebrities, sport personalities and political influencers. The event was Co-Partnered by the Sri Lanka Business Council in the UAE and Equality Alliance UK. 


Dr. Sulochana Segera

WIM seeks to recognise inspiring women from across the globe. Speaking to Daily Mirror, WIM stated that, “as we continue our global journey, we are eager to learn from others and continue to recognise and showcase untold success stories from women from so many different countries and industries.  This we hope, will inspire others and bring about the much-needed change.  WIM would welcome new ideas and looks forward to seeing ambitions unfold during this journey at a global level. With this event we celebrated and recognised exceptional women whose outstanding performances in various sectors, from politics to creative art were a source of inspiration for many in the audience. The event was live streamed and was watched across the globe. WIM had thirteen judges from nine countries, and nominations from twenty-six countries. Final winners were selected from eighteen countries. The excellence of nominations and the professional screening and transparent judging backed by proper due diligence, helped WIM in picking the best of the best.”

The event culminated in an awards ceremony. Winners were identified across numerous categories including Law, Banking and Finance, Leadership, Education and so on. Few of the winners noted herewith: 

Sandra De Zoysa

Outstanding Legal Professional of the Year: Dr. Nermine Tahoun, Founder and Managing Partner Tahoun and Associates.

Women in Development: Pramila Acharya Rijal, Founder President, South Asian Women Development Forum.

Legal Professional of the Year: Mariyam Shunana, Managing Partner, Shunana & Co. LLP 

Strategic Leadership Award: Latifa Al’Shehhi, Head of Data Management, Road and Transport Authority, Dubai


Banking and Finance Professional of the Year: Samantha de Silva, International Development Consultant.

Inspirational Entrepreneur of the Year: Sandra Wanduragala, Founder and Chairperson, Selyn Exporters (PVT) Ltd.

Women in Politics: Hon. Dr. Sudharshini Fernandopulle, Member of Parliament.

Inspirational Woman of the Year: Dawn Austin, Managing Director and CEO, Nidro Supply (PVT) Ltd.

Global Sri Lankan of the Year: Suen Swaminathan

Service Excellence in the Telecommunications Sector: Sandra De Zoysa, Group Chief Customer Officer, Dialog Axiata, Director, Dialog Business Services, Chairperson and Founder Member, Sri Lanka Association of Software Service Companies.

Service Excellence in the Finance Sector: Melanie Janine Kanaka, Deputy President, The Chartered Institute of Management Accountants.

Leadership in Hospitality: Shiromal Cooray, Chairman, Jetwing Hotels Limited.

Male Champion in Politics: Hon. Eran Wickramaratne, Member of Parliament.

Corporate Leadership Award 2022: Kasturi Chellaraja Wilson, Group Chief Executive Officer, Hemas Holdings PLC.

Business Leadership Excellence in Supply Chain and Logistics: Tania Polonnowita Wettimuny, Group Managing Director, IAS Holdings (PVT) Ltd.

Women in Entrepreneurship (Health Sector): Deshamanya Indrani Fernando, Chairperson and Managing Director, New Philip Hospitals.


Career Role Model of the Year: Rudo Mabel Chitiga, Ambassador Public Services. 

Business Award: Ngozi Oyewole, Managing Director, Noxie Limited.


Upcoming Female Entrepreneur of the Year: Kiru Kishokumar, Global Health Coach, Pharmacologist and International Speaker. 

Excellence in Medical Research: Gayani Tillekeratne, Assistant Professor of Medicine Duke University.


Social Impact Award 2022: Dr. Lalitha Kutti Krishnan Nair, Director, Amogha Group of Companies. 


Business Woman of the Year: Aparna Bajpai, Founder and CEO, BeingShe


Social Change Maker of the Year: Barbara Nussbaum, Founder and Director, FINDING US IN MUSIC. 


Sandra Wanduragala


The conference also raised the question of gender disparity and sent a clear message that the world is losing out on a vast percentage of human resource by undermining women in all strata of life. It was made clear that the progress in this direction is too slow to give us results in our lifetime and hence this needs to change immediately. Speakers at the conference stated that the time is now to accelerate the process so that it gains a sustainable momentum. Speakers repeatedly kept stressing on this point! 

This is a special year for WIM; they have taken their first steps towards creating a global movement. WIM is a Sri Lankan organisation founded by Dr. Sulochana Segera. According to Dr. Segera, motivation, creativity, vision, versatility, flexibility and risk tolerance are also important factors when aiming for success. Her message was loud and clear - NEVER GIVE UP and BELIEVE IN YOURSELF! She further added, ‘staging this fantastic event in Dubai was a dream come true. We have been planning this for years. With such a diverse range of nationalities calling it home, access to high-level experts not to mention several of our well-deserved winners from the region, Dubai has enabled us to take this annual event to the next level. Our gratitude for the overwhelming support from local entities like the Sri Lanka Business Council cannot be overstated.”

The Top50 Global Conference and Award was graced by His Excellency, Ambassador Malraj De Silva, Ambassador of Sri Lanka in Abu Dhabi and the United Arab of Emirates, Hon. Kanimozhi Karunanidhi, Member of Parliament, India, Hon. Eran Wickramaratne, Member of Parliament, Sri Lanka, Hon. Dr. Sudharshini Fernandopulle, Member of Parliament, Sri Lanka, Dr. Edita Thahiri, Leader of the Independence of Kosovo, Former Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs, Kosovo, H.E. Dr. Favour Ayodele, Nigeria Presidential Candidate, 2023, Founder and Chairman, African Intellectual Resource Organization, Nishan Silva, Group General Manager, Pullman Dubai Creek City Centre, H.E Xhabir Hamiti, Ambassador of Kosovo, Hon. Mogobo David Magabe, Consul General of South Africa, Maryam Elmoustaine, Counsel General Office, Bahrain, H.E Laila Rahhal, Founder and President, Businessg Gate, H.E. Jamal Hossain, Consul General of Bangladesh.



Card image cap
Embark on a Gastronomic Odyssey: Iconic British Brands Unveil Their Culinary Charms in Sri Lanka.

06 Apr 2024

Card image cap
The 2023 WCIC Prathibhabhisheka Women Entrepreneur Awards

06 Apr 2024

Card image cap

06 Apr 2024

Card image cap
Charting Legal Horizons: David McCoy’s Journey in Establishing a Law Firm in Abu Dhabi.

06 Apr 2024

Card image cap
Tiny Treasures: The Art of the Mini Statement Bag

06 Apr 2024

Card image cap
Massive Social Media Campaign, #NOguti 2.0, Launched to Mark International Day to End Corporal Punishment

30 Mar 2024


  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment