Sat, 24 Feb 2024 Today's Paper

ANUSHA MARASINGHE-PERERA AND SHANI PERERA


A A A

Questions

(1) Share in brief a summary of your educational qualifications?

(2) Share in a brief a summary of your professional journey?

(3) Tell us a bit about yourselves?

(4) How is it working with your mother / daughter?

(5) Share with us a secret about your mother / daughter that no-one else knows?

(6) Do you both envision working together in the long run or would you prefer to build your own companies and brands separately?

(7) What are you most passionate about?

(8) Who do you look up to for inspiration?

(9) What do you do during your spare time?

(10) In a post Covid19 world, which industries do you think are most likely to succeed?

(11) Share with us in brief your plans for the immediate future?

(12) Does your mother / daughter interfere with your work or your creativity?

(13) Who is your mom’s favorite child? You or your brother?

(14) Closer to your mom or to your dad?

(15) Prefer to live in Sri Lanka or move overseas?

(16) Best thing about working with your daughter?

(17) Worst thing about working with your mother?

 

 

(1) SHANI 

  •  Alumna of St. Bridget’s Convent, Colombo.
  •  Advanced Diploma in Management, National Institute of Business Management, Colombo.
  •  BA (Hons) Business Administration, Bellevue University, USA.

(2) SHANI

  • Co-Founder and Managing Director, Zoe Exclusive Designer Wear, Colombo
  •  Director, SGT Constructions (PVT) Ltd.

ANUSHA

  • Commenced my professional journey working for my late father, Mr. Sugathadasa Marasinghe,  Founder and Chairman, Singhagiri (PVT) Ltd.
  • Managing Director, Singhagiri (PVT) Ltd.
  • Founder and Managing Director, Brooks Interior Design (PVT) Ltd.
  • Managing Director, SGT Constructions (PVT) Ltd.
  • Co-Founder and Director, Zoe Exclusive Designer Wear, Colombo
  • Co-Founder, Singhagiri Designer Collection, Liberty Plaza Mall (1990-2013)
     

 

 

(3) SHANI

A total neat-freak and a clean-freak. Very organized. I love exploring and experimenting with new creative ideas. I like to help people as often as I can without expecting anything in return. I’m also a massive animal lover.  

ANUSHA
I believe in leading a peaceful and good life. I have immense faith in my religion, and I try to live a very religious, quiet and private life. I believe in working hard and having a mission, and a vision, to accomplish my goals in life.

 

(4) SHANI

She is my mentor, my idol! My biggest strength. I cannot imagine life without her. I’m beyond blessed to have a mother who’s not only an absolute go-getter, but also a great visionary and a very ambitious Entrepreneur.  


ANUSHA

My daughter is very creative and street-smart. She is hardworking and stays committed to the job. Working with her has been quite an interesting experience. We exchange ideas and we regularly sit and brain-storm together before making any decisions.

 

 

(5) SHANI

She is a go-getter. If she wants something she will go at it and will not stop until she achieves it. Ammi is a very quiet person in general so no one sees this side of her when she’s at work.

 

ANUSHA


She will not tolerate injustice at anytime. She is very passionate about female equality and child rights.
 

 

(6) SHANI

We work together in several companies, but we also have our own individual businesses as well. We have found our own equation in managing our joint-work and our independent work successfully.

ANUSHA

This is an on-going discussion. We are planning to diversify into other sectors and at present we are discussing the way forward.
 

 

(7) SHANI

I have varied interests, but at present I am quite passionate about self-improvement and personal growth.

ANUSHA

Spending time with my family and working on my Interior Design projects; I find it quite therapeutic and relaxing.


 

(8) SHANI

My Parents; Ammi and Thaththi. I also believe that we have something to learn from everyone we meet in life. We need to overlook the negative and learn from the positive.

ANUSHA: My Parents

 

(9) SHANI

Watch Documentaries on Netflix and Cook! I love cooking and experimenting with different ingredients and recipes. I also enjoy exploring new ideas related to work. Spending time with my family, my cousins and friends is also a firm favorite!  

ANUSHA

I have eight four-legged babies at home. So most of my spare times is spent cuddling them.

 

 

(10) SHANI

Everything will revolve around E-commerce. Tourism, Organic Farming, Renewable Energy, Eco-friendly Sustainable Products, Elderly Care and Delivery Networks are a few industries that I think will have a great impact in the near future.

ANUSHA
All industries should succeed and survive, that is my one wish as an Entrepreneur!

 

 

(11) SHANI

Re-launch Zoe’s latest collection in a new boutique atmosphere collaborating with a few Partners.

ANUSHA
Expand Brooks Interiors business structure in order to connect with more clients locally and internationally.

 

(12) SHANI: Not at all. She gives me a free-hand to execute my work. If she feels like I’m heading down a slippery-slope, she will always have a conversation with me and help me steer down the right path.

ANUSHA

No, not at all. My daughter is very supportive and easy to work with.

 

(13) SHANI: Malli for sure. He is the golden child of the family. Malli can do no wrong in the eyes of my parents.

(14) SHANI: Ammi

(15) SHANI: Sri Lanka without a doubt. I love my country and I cannot imagine living  anywhere else other than here! We live in paradise.

ANUSHA
There is no place like home-sweet-home; SRI LANKA.

(16)  ANUSHA

She is intelligent and efficient. She is full of new ideas and she is very organized. She also has great time management skills, which makes working with her very easy and a pleasure.

 

(17)  SHANI

Hmm. Nothing to be honest. She is fun to work with. We genuinely have a good time working together.

 

 

Q&A

SHANI

Fashion: What’s In. Eco-friendly material, Eco-dyeing, batiks, light-weight comfortable  outfits and subtle colours.

What’s Out: Vintage Glam

Social Media: Yay or Nay? 70% Yay and 30% Nay

Favorite Netflix Genre? Documentaries, Romance, Drama, Comedy and Thriller. I love a bit of everything.

Favorite Holiday Destination?

Sri Lanka is my absolute favorite country in the world. There is so much to discover in our paradise island. I love traveling overseas and exploring new cities. Singapore is a firm favorite, and  Switzerland is on my bucket-list.

Favorite Resort in Sri Lanka? Cape Weligama

Favorite Restaurant in Sri Lanka? So difficult to choose one. My favorite cuisines include Korean, Thai and Chinese.

Most Fashionable Male / Female in Sri Lanka?

Treshan Weerasuriya Pereira and Achira Edirisinghe

Trend for Summer 2021? Oversized outfits, the colors green, yellow, and beige hues. More earthy tones, and fancy sleeves.

What’s on your Playlist this week? Song of the Week? I enjoy listening to Sinhala music.

Must have item in your handbag? My wallet

 

 

ANUSHA

Fashion: What’s In. Batik and Ruffles.

What’s Out: Vibrant Colors.

Favorite Netflix Genre? I don’t watch anything on Netflix.

Favorite Holiday Destination? Singapore

Favorite Resort in Sri Lanka? Jetwing Yala and Shangri La Hambanthota

Favorite Restaurant in Sri Lanka? Thai Boulevard

Most Fashionable Female in Sri Lanka? Sujeewa Nelson

Trend For Summer 2021? Comfortable Loose Clothing!

What’s On Your Playlist? Classics! Golden Oldies.

Must Have Item In Your Handbag? Wallet and Mobile Phone

 

RECOMMENDED WEEKEND ONLINE

Card image cap
Tailor your mental health care routine with clarity

24 Feb 2024

More
Card image cap
Ritjana Ceveli

24 Feb 2024

More
Card image cap
LA VIE EN ROSE

24 Feb 2024

More
Card image cap
Fashion Room

24 Feb 2024

More
Card image cap
Colombo Fashion Week 2024, proudly presented in partnership with MasterCard, remains steadfast in its dedication to the core values of Sustainability, Retail, and Design Development

24 Feb 2024

More
Card image cap
Moosalaya’s Broken Hearts Pub

24 Feb 2024

More

  Comments - 2

  • Com Saturday, 24 July 2021 09:33 AM

    No comment.

    Prasadini Ranasinghe Tuesday, 14 December 2021 03:59 PM

    PROUD OF YOU BOTH ANUSHA AND SHANI.. HAVE BLESSED WONDERFUL FUTURE..ALL THE BEST.

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment