Dinesh, Pasindu steer Galle to fourth win

2 April 2023 10:41 pm - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


National Super League Limited Over Tournament

By M. Shamil Amit

Dinesh Chandimal and Pasindu Sooriyabandara shone for Galle against Kandy in the National Super League limited-overs tournament encounter played at P. Sara Stadium on Saturday, as they steered the side to their fourth win of the tournament.

Dinesh hit a 146-ball knock of 111, inclusive of nine boundaries and two sixes, while Pasindu made 98 in 104 balls with seven boundaries and four sixes, and they came to the rescue of the side when they lost two early wickets in the fifth over as the pair associated in a valuable stand of 189 runs for the third wicket for Galle, who took the first lease of the wicket to make a formidable score of 268 for 5.

Later, Asanka Manoj and Akila Dhananjaya shared seven wickets between them as they combined to bowl out Kandy in their run chase of 269 runs for a score of 189 runs.

An all-round performance by Lahiru Madusanka paved the way for Jaffna to record a win by 25 runs over Colombo in another match of the same tournament played at the R. Premadasa Stadium.

Lahiru cracked 72 in 79 balls with five boundaries and also put on a valuable partnership of 91 runs for the seventh wicket with Dilum Sudeera to help Jaffna, batting first, make a modest score of 231 runs.

In reply, Colombo were bowled out for a score of 206 runs. Lahiru followed up with a four-wicket haul, while Binura Fernando and Shiran Fernando shared four wickets between them. With the win, Jaffna chalked up their fourth win of the tournament.


At P Sara Stadium – Galle won by 79 runs
Galle 268 for 5 in 50 overs (Dinesh Chandimal 111, Pasindu Sooriyabandara 98, Ramesh Mendis 42 n.o.; Wanuja Sahan 2/49)
Kandy 189 in 35.4 overs (Oshada Fernando 60, Niroshan Dickwella 36, Amshi de Silva 22; Asanka Manoj 4/28, Akila Dhananjaya 3/27)

At R. Premadasa Stadium – Jaffna won by 25 runs
Jaffna 231 for 8 In 50 overs (Lahiru Madusanka 72, Kasun Abeyratne 69, Janith Liyanage 20, Dilum Sudeera 38 n.o.; Nuwan Pradeep 3/35, Dushan Vimukthi 2/38)
Colombo 206 in 47.2 overs (Ashen Bandara 60, Avishka Fernando 38, Nipun Dhananjaya 35; Lahiru Madusanka 4/33, Binura Fernando 2/35, Shiran Fernando 2/50)



  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment