Streaks continue for Mahamaya and St. Joseph's

3 July 2017 06:35 am - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


By M. Shamil Amit

Mahamaya Girl’s School Kandy and St. Joseph’s Colombo continued their domination in schools swimming when they retained the Milo All Island Schools Swimming Championships title with Mahamaya winning it for the 18th year in a row and St Joseph’s for the 14th year in a row.

Mahamaya Girl's School swimming team 

St. Joseph's College swimming team

Mahamaya did not have it easy this year as they were given some anxious moments by Visakha Vidyalaya Colombo whom they pipped by 10.50 points. Mahamaya ended the four-day contest securing 518 points and Viskaha a close second on 507.50 points.

The battle for the girl’s championship went to the wire and was decided in the last girl’s event on the final day yesterday which was the U17 medley relay in which the Mahamaya girls prevailed.

Sirimavo Bandaranayake BV took the third spot with 343 points followed by Lyceum International School Wattala (331) who made a big impact, Musaeus College (231) and Ladies College (206).

In contrast it was a one horse race in the boys’ category with St. Joseph’s way ahead as they secured a mammoth 560 points with Royal 179 points behind them on 381 followed by Ananda (349), Lyceum International School Wattala (210), St. Sebastian’s (199) and Nalanda (185).

Mahamaya in accumulating their points obtained 432 in the senior events and 86 in the junior events while St. Joseph’s points came off from 407 in the senior and 153 in the junior division.
Meanwhile in all 31 new individual records were established in the four days of competition.

Diving Champions:
Under 15 Girls -
Shenuki Wijesiri - Bishops College
Under 15 Boys -  Abhishek Megalle - Royal College
Under 17 Girls - Shenali Herath - Sirimabo Balika Vidyalaya
Under 17 Boys - Sachin Nilupul – Sri Jayawardenapura Kotte
Under 19 Girls - Nivanka Nanayakkara - Bishops College
Under 19 Boys - Dulanjan Fernando - Royal College

Swimming Individual Champions:
Under 9 Girls -
K U O Onanga - Sumedha College Gamapaha
Under 9 Boys - Pinsara Sadaham - Sussex College Ampara
Under 11 Girls - Tevindi Methlini - Lyceum International Wattala
Under 11 Boys - Bihandu Hansana - Sri Devananda College
Under 13 Girl’s - Thinaya Jayarathna - Lyceum Panadura, Ananya Kalyanasundaram - Lyceum Wattala, Nabashi Perera - Sirimavo Balika Vidyalaya
Under 13 Boys - Banuka Jayathilaka - Royal College,
Under 15 Girls - Ramudi Samarakoon - Visakha Vidyalaya (3 Records)
Under 15 Boys - Shevinda De Silva - St Josephs College (2 Records)
Under 17 Girls - Monali Weerakkody - Gateway College Colombo (2 Records)
Under 17 Boys - Akalanka Peries - St Peters (3 Records)
Under 19 Girls - Gihini Nawela - Visaka Vidyalaya, S A K U Kulathunga - Girls High School Kandy, Thomali Senevirathna - Sirimavo Balika Vidyalaya
Under 19 Boys - Dilanka Shehan - Nalanda (3 Records)

Swimming Team Champions:
Under 9 Girls -
Sumedha College Gamapaha
nder 9 Boys - Lyceum Nugegoda
Under 11 Girls - Lyceum Wattala
Under 11 Boys - St. Joseph's
Under 13 Girls - Lyceum Wattala
Under 13 Boys - Nalanda
Under 15 Girls - Visaka Vidyalaya
Under 15 Boys - St. Joseph's
Under 17 Girls - Mahamaya Kandy
Under 17 Boys - St. Joseph's
Under 19 Girls - Mahamaya Kandy
Under 19 Boys - St. Josephs

Overall Best Swimmers:
Best Female Swimmer -
Vinoli Kaluarachchi - Sirimavo Balika Vidyalaya
Best Male Swimmer - Akalanka Peries - St. Peters College.


  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment