Thu, 23 May 2024 Today's Paper

WNL bags 5 at inaugural Presidential Media Awards


11 April 2019 12:10 am - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


T. Danushka Wijesiri accepts his award

Princiya Dixci accepts her award

Yasawardene Rodrigo accepts his award



By Yohan Perera and Sandun A Jayasekera   

Kamanthi Wickremasinghe of Daily Mirror won the Best Investigative Reporter of the year award at the inaugural Presidential Media Awards organized by the Ministry of Mass Media yesterday while Daily Mirror journalists were nominated for several other awards.   

Nisansala Dissanayake of Daily Mirror was nominated for the Investigative reporter of the year award. Both Kamanthi and Nisansala were the only two nominees for the award from the English category.   

Meanwhile, Sheain Fernandopulle and Amra Ismail of Daily Mirror were nominated for the Best Feature Writer award while Shehan Chamika Silva was nominated for the Reporter Of The Year award.   

In addition Princiya Dixci of Tamil Mirror bagged two awards, namely the Best Feature Article Of The Year and the Best Investigative Report Of The Year. A publication of the Wijeya Newspapers Ltd. Group “Deshaya” was adjudged as the Best Designed Newspaper.   

Meanwhile, Yasawardene Rodrigo bagged the award for the Best Column Of The Year award. Accordingly, Wijeya Newspapers Ltd. (WNL) bagged five awards in total at the inaugural Presidential Media Awards.   

Presidential Media Awards 2018 was mooted by the Mass Media Ministry as a platform for recognizing and rewarding star journalists covering print, electronic and the web.   

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment