Wimal, Udaya, Channa Jayasumana form new political movement

Colombo, May 27 (Daily Mirror) - Several political parties including the National Freedom Front (NFF) led by MP Wimal Weerawansa, Pivithuru Hela Urumaya (PHU) led by MP Udaya Gammanpila and several civil organisations formed a new political movement named ‘Sarvajana Balaya’ this morning.

They signed the agreement to form the movement at a ceremony held in Colombo last morning.

The Mawbima Janatha Party (MJP), the Democratic Left Front, the Communist Party and the Independent MP’s Forum led by MP Channa Jayasumana are among the other political groups which signed the agreement.

General Secretary of the Communist Party G. Weerasinghe, Chairman of Yuthukama organisation, Gevindu Kumaratunga, Deputy General Secretary of the Democratic Left Front and Mawbima Janatha Party (MJP) leader Dilith Jayaweera were other signatories.

  Comments - 56

You May Also Like