Navy, Air Force eye first win of season

2 January 2020 11:00 pm - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


By Sandun Kodithuwakku

Navy Sports Club and Air Force Sports Club will look to register their first win this season when they battle it out in their Dialog Inter-Club League Rugby Tournament fixture at Welisara tomorrow (03).

Navy SC suffered their fourth successive defeat in their previous outing when they lost to CH and FC 21-23 after a close contest at the Racecourse Grounds.

They will once again bank on the place kicking of Chathura Seneviratne who had a very good last match against CH and FC.

However, the Navy SC pack which has been their strength for many seasons has not been as lethal as it used to be mainly due to the absence of some key players.

Meanwhile, Air Force SC have made few changes as number eight Dinesh Weerarathne and full back Amitha Silva are set to make their debut this season while pushing Ramzan Amith, Manuka Perera and Jason Karunarathne to the bench.

The Air Force SC pack will be spearheaded by Captain Ranuka Medagedara who will no doubt use all his experience in an attempt to get the better of the opposition.

The Airmen lost to Havelock SC 11-16 in their previous game at Ratmalana.

The teams

Navy SC: Deshan Wimukthi, Pradeep Ranaweera, Charith Silva, Janith Laksara, Kavishka Gayashan, Gihan Perera, Adeesha Weerathunga, Radeesha Senevirathna, Richie Dharmapala (Captain), Seru Cavuilati, Dananjaya Samith, Faleel Mushin, Sachinka Abeysekara, Chathura Senevirathna, Isuru Kongahawatta.

Air Force SC: Ranuka Medagedara (Captain), Parakkrama Rathnayake, Nuwan Rajakaruna, Nilantha Jayaweera, Anjula Hettiarachchi, Abishek Fernando, Gimhana Silva, Sarath Weralla, Nuwan Perera, Gayantha Iddamalgoda, Ishara Madushan, Krishan Soorya, James Tuteovuya, Tuan Packeer, Faris Ali. 


  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

Import of South Indian eggs: Sri Lanka walks on Indian eggshells

With the increase in egg prices the government decided to import eggs to regu

Wokeism: Is it destructive, or are you afraid of change? A response

In order to critically discuss a movement, we must first understand its etymo

Defeat in Ananthapuram Battle denoted the LTTE’s end

Many battles were fought during the long war between the Sri Lankan armed for

Wokeism: A Weapon of Mass Destruction?

When can one say they’ve had enough of being in a state of ‘wokeness’ a