Chathuranga bags six, NCC set for early kill

26 August 2020 10:14 pm - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


Shehan Jayasuriya of Chilaw Marians CC 

By M. Shamil Amit

Left arm spinner and - allrounder Chathuranga de Silva bagged six scalps as NCC was set for an early kill against Colts CC when the second day’s play of the Premier Tier A Super Eight inter-club cricket encounter ended at the CCC ground yesterday.

DSesilva's scalps saw Colts CC in reply to NCC’s mammoth score of 458 runs, made on day one, redused to a score of 222 runs. Colts CC made to follow on with a defict of 236 runs to erase was in a bad position struggling on 119 for 6 needing a further 117 runs to avoid an innings defeat.

A ton by Shehan Jayasuriya, supported by half tons from Oshada Fernando, Kasun Vidura, Rumesh Buddika and Lasith Croospulle, helped Chilaw Marians CC resuming from their overnight score of 83 for 2 make a formidable score of 458 for 9 declared on day two against CCC in the match played at the SSC ground. CCC batting the second time ended the day on 68 for 2.

Ragama CC resuming from their overnight score of 309 for 2 went on to make a score of 491 runs against BRC who ended day two on 142 for 2 in the match played at P. Sara Stadium. The matches will be continued today.

The matches are of academic interest as defending champions CCC have emerged champions to retain the title. CCC ended the penultimate round matches which ended on August 22 on top with 89.35 points followed by Chilaw Marians CC 68.89, NCC 64.10, Ragama CC 57.29, Colts CC 55.20, Saracens SC 44.95, BRC 42.15 and Army SC 39.53.



NCC: 458 (Angelo Perera 107, Lahiru Udara 66, Niroshan Dickwella 57, Sahan Arachchige 44, Chathuranga de Silva 41, Kamil Mishara 72 n.o. : Prabath Jayasuriya 4/117, Dilruwan Perera 4/119)

Colts CC: 222 (Angelo Mathews 52, Sadeera Samarawickrama 39, Chathuranga de Silva 6/56, Lasith Embuldeniya 2/47, Ashian Daniel 2/59) and 119 for 6 (Sadeera Samarawickrama 51, Angelo Mathews 30rtd hurt: Ashian Daniel 3/30, Dushmantha Chameera 2/12)


CCC: 287(Lasith Abeyratne 68, Lahiru Madusanka 45, Ashan Priyanjan 35, Lakshan Sandakan 35, Vishwa Fernando 16 n.o.: Nimesh Vimukthi 5/59, Asitha Fernando 3/75) and 68 for 2 (Minod Bhanuka 25, Kusal Mendis 25 n.o.: Shehan Jayasuriya 2 for 17)

Chilaw Marians CC: (83/2 overnight) 458 for 9 declared (Shehan Jayasuriya 108, Oshada Fernando 85, Kasyn Vidura 51, Rumesh Buddika 56, Lasith Croospulle 50, Pulina Tharanga 34: Malinda Pushpakumara 4/106, Lakshan Sandakan 3/112)

At P Sara Stadium

Ragama CC: (309/2 overnight) 491 (Udara Jayasundara 158, Lahiru Thirimanne 140, Amila Aponso 38, Ishan Jayaratne 36, Binura Fernando 52 n.o.: Hashen Ramanayake 3/80)

BRC: 142 for 2 (Nisal Frnasiscon 50, Lasith Lakshan 32, Shanuka Dulaj 59 n.o.) 


  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment