Bangladesh secures historic U-19 WC Trophy

9 February 2020 11:03 pm - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


A stubborn unbeaten knock of 43 by Skipper Akbar Ali helped Bangladesh Under-19 record a three-wicket win over the defending champions India Under-19 in their rain-hit ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup final played at Potchefstroom, South Africa today (09).

Bangladesh Under-19 won an ICC conducted World Cup Tournament in any level for the first time in the history and for the India Under-19 this was the first defeat since the 2016 final.

The target for Bangladesh Under-19 was revised to 170 runs from 46 overs due to a downpour when they were making steady progress with the score at 163 for seven in the 41st over.

Skipper Ali and Hossain was associated in a valuable 41-run stand for the seventh-wicket having recovered from 85 for five in the 21st over to 143 for seven in the 32nd over before Ali along with Rakibul Hasan put on an unbroken 27 runs for the eighth wicket.

Bangladesh Under-19 in pursuit of a modest target of 178 runs had a solid start through their their openers Parvez Hossain and Tanzid Hasan.

But they fell into trouble as they lost three quick wickets as spinner Ravi Bishnol who made the early breakthrough grabbed three wickets to have the Bangladesh Under-19 in a spot of bother at 65 for five in the 17th over.

Earlier, opener Yashasvi Jaiswal and Tilak Varma put on a 94-run stand for the second wicket after India had lost their first wicket with the score on nine after being put into bat.

Jaiswal and Dhruv Jurel associated in a brief 42-run stand for the fourth-wicket. Jaiswal made 88 in 121 balls that included eight boundaries and a six.

From thereon, they lost wickets at regular intervals as they collapsed and lost their remaining six wickets for the addition of just 21 runs to end with a score of 177 runs. (MSA)

India Under-19

Y. Jaiswal c Tanzid b Shoriful 88

D. Saxena c Mahmudul b Das 02

T. Varma c Shoriful b Sakib 38

P. Garg c Tanzid b Rakibul 07

D. Jurel run out 22

S. Veer lbw b Shoriful 00

A. Ankolekar b Das 03

R. Bishnoi run out 02

S. Mishra c Shoriful b Sakib 03

K. Tyagi c Akbar b Das 00

A. Singh not out 01

Extras: (w10, lb1) 11

Total (all out, 47.2 overs) 177

Fall: 1-9, 2-103, 3-114, 4-156, 5-156, 6-168, 7-170, 8-170, 9-172

Bowling: Shoriful Islam 10-1-31-2, Tanzim Hasan Sakib 8.2-2-28-2, Avishek Das 9-0-40-3, Shamim Hossain 6-0-36-0, Rakibul Hasan 10-1-29-1, Towhid Hridoy 4-0-12-0

Bangladesh Under-19

P. Hossain c Akash b Jaiswal 47

T. Hasan c Tyagi b Bishnoi 17

M. Joy b Bishnoi 08

T. Hridoy lbw b Bishnoi 00

S. Hossain st Jurel b Bishnoi 01

A. Ali not out 43

S. Hossain c Jaiswal b Mishra 07

A. Das c Tyagi b Mishra 5

R. Hasan not out 09

Extras: (nb2, w19, b8, lb4) 33

Total: (7 wickets, 42.1 overs) 170

Fall: 1-50, 2-62, 3-62, 4-65, 5-85, 6-102, 7-143

Bowling: Kartik Tyagi 10-2-33-0, Sushant Mishra 7-0-25-2, Akash Singh 8-1-33- 0, Ravi Bishnoi 10-3-30-4, Atharva Ankolekar 4.1-0-22-0, Yashasvi Jaiswal 3-0-15-1 


  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment