UNP expels five MPs

UNP expelled five MPs S. B. Navinna, Dunesh Gangkanda, Asoka Priyantha, Wijedasa Rajapaksha and Ananda Aluthgamage from the party yesterday.

UNP General Secretary Akila Viraj Kariyawasam told Daily Mirror that these five members were expelled as they violated the interests of the party during the constitutional crisis in 2018. These five MPs joined the 52-day government formed by former President and current Leader of Opposition Mahinda Rajapaksa after he was sworn in as Prime Minister by President Maithripala Sirisena in October 2018. (Yohan Perera)

  Comments - 6

You May Also Like