Mon, 20 May 2024 Today's Paper

UNP expels five MPs

25 September 2019 07:31 am - 6     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


UNP expelled five MPs S. B. Navinna, Dunesh Gangkanda, Asoka Priyantha, Wijedasa Rajapaksha and Ananda Aluthgamage from the party yesterday.

UNP General Secretary Akila Viraj Kariyawasam told Daily Mirror that these five members were expelled as they violated the interests of the party during the constitutional crisis in 2018. These five MPs joined the 52-day government formed by former President and current Leader of Opposition Mahinda Rajapaksa after he was sworn in as Prime Minister by President Maithripala Sirisena in October 2018. (Yohan Perera)

  Comments - 6

  • Jude Wednesday, 25 September 2019 08:15 AM

    Good move!!!

    Samson Wednesday, 25 September 2019 08:18 AM

    Leader has killed the party and not much left.

    Muhandiram Imsid Wednesday, 25 September 2019 08:35 AM

    Why did it take so long, almost a year?

    ravin Wednesday, 25 September 2019 09:03 AM

    Are any of them appointed by the party? Take back their appointments as well? Let them to jump from one tree branch to another.

    cheers Wednesday, 25 September 2019 09:44 AM

    Akila and Ranil will also be expelled soon by Sajith and Harin

    lkboy Wednesday, 25 September 2019 11:34 AM

    so what happens now?

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment