Sun, 26 May 2024 Today's Paper

Ninth (9th) Parliament

First sitting to commence on 20th August


18 August 2020 06:22 am - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


The Secretary General of Parliament Dhammika Dasanayake has officially informed all Members of Parliament to attend the first sitting of the 9th Parliament which is to commence at 9.30 am on 20th August 2020.

The Secretary-General made this invitation through a letter to 223 Members of Parliament whose names have been gazetted by the Chairman of the Election Commission.

The letter from the Secretary-General states that the appointment of the Speaker, the Deputy Speaker and the Deputy Chairperson of Committees in accordance with Standing Order 1 and taking of the official oath or affirmation of all new MPs will take place on the same day.

Accordingly, the official oath or affirmation is expected to be taken either in Sinhala, Tamil or English and the relevant documents prepared in the respective languages will be placed on the Chamber table.

The Secretary-General's letter further stated that the programme and other details of the first sitting of the 9th Parliament is being announced on the official website of the Parliament as well.

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment