Anura Yapa appointed Chairman Public Finance Committee

By Yohan Perera   

SLPP MP Anura Priyadarshana Yapa was appointed as the Chairman of the Committee on Public Finance, Parliament sources said yesterday.  

Mr. Yapa’s name was proposed by Hon. Bandula Gunawardana and seconded by   
MP Dilan Perera according to Parliament sources.   

Meanwhile, SJB MP Dr Harsha de Silva said Mr. Yapa was appointed chairman of the Committee despite his protest. “Government got a resolution passed in Parliament to suspend standing orders to get Mr. Yapa appointed. An opposition MP has to be appointed as the Chairperson of Public Finance committee as per the standing orders,” Dr. de Silva said.   


  Comments - 0

You May Also Like