Three private power stations to be closed

Power and Energy Minister Patali Champika Ranawaka today said the operations of three private thermal power stations would be closed down as a measure of energy conservation.

He said the power stations situated in Matara, Puttalam and Embilipitiya would be closed down in coincidence with the energy conservation month declared by his ministry.

However, the Kelanitissa Power Station will remain as a main power post.    

He said that there were two charges for these thermal power posts, known as capacity charges and energy charges and they will have to pay capacity charges whether they use these power stations or not.

He said basically capacity charges come up to Rs. 3,600 million per year and by concluding thermal power stations they could save that expense.   

Introducing a month to save power and energy, he said that the month will commence from May 15, under the theme “A country for tomorrow” (Hetak Wenuwen Ratak).

He stated that the ministry would educate the Three Forces, Sri Lanka Transport Board (SLTB), Department of Railways, Schools, companies and Government Institutions and those who use more electricity.  

He noted that every company should appoint a power saving manager and at the end of the month the ministry would like to give token of appreciations for companies to those who saved energy and power. (Yoshitha Perera)

  Comments - 7

You May Also Like