SLPP's Ranaweera elected Seethawakapura Mayor

Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) councillor K.A. Ranaweera was elected Mayor of Seethawakapura in which the United National Party (UNP) secured the most number of seats at the local government election.

The UNP obtained 11 seats while the SLPP obtained eight, the United Peoples' Freedom Alliance (UPFA) obtained three seats and the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP) obtained one seat.

During yesterday's session, three members including Mr. Ranaweera contested for the mayoral post with Mr. Ranaweera securing 11 votes.

The other two members, Lal Pinto and Sandun Harischandra who were both from the UNP, received five votes each.

  Comments - 2

You May Also Like