Last Updated : 2019-01-22 16:20:44

Apps Advertising Home Delivery Feedback

25 senior lawyers made President's Counsel

27 April 2017 05:15 pm - 4     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


President Maithripala Sirisena today appointed 25 senior lawyers including TNA MP M.A. Sumanthiran, J. C. Weliamuna, Upul Jayasuriya and Nizam Kariapper as President’s Counsel.

A statement from the President’s office said these lawyers were appointed in recognition of their professional integrity and diligence.

The other lawyers were Daya Pelpola, Ariya B. Rekawa, Anura Bandara Meddegoda, Nissanka Nanayakkara, Saman Ratwatte, Nevil Abeyratne, W.J. Anuja Kaushika Premaratne, A.L. M.Hedayathullah, Wijeratne Darmasena, Upali Senaratne, Padma Bandara, S.K. Marik Peiris, Karunaratne Herath, Mahendra Suwandaratne, A.P.C. M. Jayasekara, Mohan Weerakoon , P.R.S.P. Samaranayake, Ananda Wickramasekara, Vijeya Niranjan Perera, Karunadewage Wimaladasa and Vivekanandan Puvdaran.

The President made these appointments for the first time after he assumed office in 2015.

  Comments - 4

  • ceylon Thursday, 27 April 2017 06:04 PM

    appointing after pass the exams.dont create paper only presidents councellers. via DM Android App

    alex Thursday, 27 April 2017 07:19 PM

    Why has he forgotten to appoint Ms.Mahinda Rajapakse and Namal Rajapakse in spite of their professional integrity and diligence?

    Bala Thursday, 27 April 2017 10:08 PM

    Reminds me of All the Preidents Men (movie) and all the presidents and PMs catchers.

    Sofia Thursday, 27 April 2017 10:12 PM

    Ther was a time taking silk was an honour endorsed by your peers. But now it is hardly a difference between a PC in Law and PC in the Police - yes sir and you get there..

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

Zion Church blast Batticaloa’s episode with a ‘dangerous seeker’

On April 22 (Monday) the final rites of 12-year-old Sharon Steven, his 10-yea

Negombo still groggy after worst nightmare

It was minutes after the Rev. Father delivered a speech about the importance

Carnage on Easter Sunday and a country in a state of denial

On December 26 last year, scores of Buddhist statues in Mawanella were vandal