Fourteen SSPs to be appointed acting DIGs

2016-06-30 21:08:24

The National Police Commission (NPC) has recommended that fourteen Senior Superintendents of Police (SSPs), including SSP Ajith Rohana, be appointed as acting Deputy Inspector Generals of Police (DIGs).

NPC secretary Ariyadasa Coorey said the appointments would be on temporary basis on account of service requirements.

He said there were a number of vacancies for DIGs. “Therefore we selected fourteen SSPs who had not yet completed their eight years of service as SSPs to be appointed as acting DIGs,” he said.

He said the appointments would be made next week following approval by the IGP.

Priyantha Jayakody, Champika Siriwardane, Wasantha Wickremesinghe and Nimal Perera were among the selected SSPs. (Darshana Sanjeewa)

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.
Name is required

Email is required
Comment cannot be empty