School Cricket to resume with 72-team limited over tournament

10 February 2021 03:13 am - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


The Sri Lanka Schools Cricket Association (SLSCA), with the aim of kick-starting the much looked forward to Under19 inter-schools cricket season which has been on hold due to the prevailing COVID-19 pandemic, has drawn up a plan to conduct an Under-19 limited over tournament earmarked to begin on March 20.

The SLSCA has finalised the draw with 72 teams divided equally into two tiers in two divisions, with games to be played over seven match days, going on till April 30.

Each team will play five matches in their division, with each division comprising six groups of six teams each.

The SLSCA this year was compelled to postpone its tournaments and a decision to conduct a 50-over tournament was made, soon after the completion of the GCE Ordinary examinations which is scheduled to end on March 13.

Last year the interschools cricket tournament came to a halt at the quarter-final stage in March.

The league matches are scheduled to be played on March 20, 25, 30, April 4 and 9.

The quarter-finals are scheduled to be on or before April 20 while the semi-finals will take place on or before April 25 with the finals slotted on or before April 30.

The Teams and Groups:
Division One Tier A:
Group X –
Trinity, Royal Colombo, DS Senanayake, De Mazenod, Gurukula MV, Wesley
Group Y – St. Joseph’s, Mahanama, St. Thomas' Matara, St. Sebastian’s, St. Benedict’s, St. Anne’a
Group Z – St. Anthony’s, Nalanda, S. Thomas’, Richmond, Maliyadeva, Prince of Wales.

Division One Tier B:
Group X -
Thurstan, Mahinda, St. Peter’s, Dharmaraja, St. Aloysius, Moratu MV
Group Y – St. Joseph Vaz Wennappuwa, Isipathana, Ananda, Zahira, Dharmapala MV, Maris Stella
Group Z – Dharmasoka MV, St. Servatius, Devapathiraja MMV Rathgama, St. Anthony’s Wattala, Lumbini MV, St Sylvester’s.

Division Two Tier A:
Group X - Sri Sumangala Panadura, Piliyandala Central, St. John’s Panadura, St. Peter’s Negombo, Kalutara MV, Galahitiyawa Central
Group Y – Siri Piyaratana MMV Padukka, Tissa Central Kalutara, Holy Cross Kalutara, St Sebastian’s Katuneriya, Sri Devananda MV, Anuradhapura Central
Group Z – Rahula MV Matara, St. John’s Jaffna, Karandeniya Central, Sri Dharmaloka MV Kelaniya, Vidyartha.

Division Two Tier B:
Group X – St. Mary’s Kegalle, President’s Kotte, Dudley Senanayake Central Tholangamuwa, Sri Jayawardenapura MV Kotte
Group Y – P de S. Kularatne MV Ambalangoda, Kingswood, Sri Rahula Katugastota, Henegama Central, Royal Panadura, Kegalu Vidyalaya
Group Z – Revatha MM V Balapitiya, Taxila Central Horana, St. Mary’s Chilaw Chilaw, Christ King Tudella, St. Thomas Matale, Asoka MV Colombo.


  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

A Sri Lankan giving dignified burials to unclaimed bodies for five decades

After their death, most people are memorialized at a service, surrounded by g

Focus on Laggala Gem mining big shots bigger than the law

The truth is now being uncovered regarding an illegal mining racket in state

How and why the TNA was formed twenty years ago

The Tamil National Alliance (TNA) is now twenty years of age. The premier pol

India lays emphasis on culture diplomacy with Sri Lanka

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi wanted to inaugurate the Kushinagar Inter