Nine meet records shattered on day one

14 February 2020 10:40 pm - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


By Susil Premalal

Shelinda Jansen and Sadeepa Henderson, both from Gateway College, Colombo matched each other to clock a time of 24.60 seconds in the Under-20 Girls’ 200m event on the first day of the 20th International Schools’ Athletics Championships (ISAC) which began at the Sugathadasa Stadium in Colombo today (14).

Both bettered the existing meet record, before Jansen was adjudged as the winner and the official new meet record holder.

Jansen, who won Gold in the 4x100m relay in the South Asian Junior Athletics Championship in Colombo in 2018, was adjudged as the new meet record holder based on the ISAC rules since she was officially placed first, she would also be the sole record holder.

There was a similar occurrence in the Boys’ Under-20, 200m event, when Santhush Weerasinghe of Lyceum International School, Wattala and Kavindu Bandara of Lyceum, Nugegoda both crossed the line in 21.80s with Weerasinghe being adjudged the winner and the new record holder in the event.

Altogether, there were 20 finals worked off today, and a total of nine meet records were broken.

New meet records:

High Jump – Under-18 Boys’: 1 Linuka Rathnapriya (LISW), 1.97m - NMR, 2 Uvindu Dilshara (LISW), 1.94m, 3 Iflal Iqbal (GCC), 1.69m.

200m – Under-20 Girls’: 1 Shelinda Jansen (GCC), 24.60s - NMR, 2 Sadeepa Henderson (GCC), 24.60s - BPR, 3 Dhanusha Dahanayake (LISW), 25.50s.

200m – Under-20 Boys’: 1 Santhush Weerasinghe (LISW), 21.80s - NMR, 2 Kavindu Bandara (LISN), 21.80s - BPR, 3 Kavindu Anjana (LISW), 22.30s.

High Jump – Under-20 Boys’: 1 Binitha Chandrasena (GCC), 2.01m - NMR, 2 Sudesh Santhosh (RI), 1.71m, 3 Dinuk Peiris (GCC), 1.68m.

Shot Put - 3.0kg Under-14 Boys’: 1 Praveen Winsara (LISW), 10.62m - NMR, 2 Jonathan Phillips (LISW), 10.61m - BPR, 3 Travin Boniface (OKI), 10.46m – BPR.

Triple Jump – Under-20 Boys: 1 Sandun Kumara (LISW), 15.44m - NMR, 2 Asitha Athukorala (LISR), 13.78m, 3 Pornthichai Yaemplab (GCK), 13.68m.

200m – Under-16 Girls’: 1 Seneka Gunarathne (CISK), 26.00s - NMR, 2 Shanella Seneviratne (GCC), 26.50s, 3 Kenari Gamage (LISW), 27.80s.

80m – Under-14 Boys’: 1 Kenul Dulmin (LISW), 10.00s - NMR, 2 Shanith Yosith (LEIS), 10.10s - BPR, 3 Saad Faleel (GCK), 10.10s – BPR.

200m – Under-18 Boys’: 1 Pasindu Gunawardena (GCC), 21.80s - NMR, 2 Navin Perera (LISW), 21.90s - BPR, 3 Thenuka Piumal (LISW), 22.90s. 

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

“The interim government should operate for one year”- Champika Ranawaka

Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) MP Patali Champika Ranawaka in an interview with

Constitutional Reform for ‘System Change’

A peaceful democratic ‘revolution’ is sweeping across Sri Lanka. It is a

Linus Jayatilake (Sept. 1942 - May 2022): A Comrade of all Working PeopLe

I first met Linus Jayatilake about a decade ago as some of us began engaging

Sri Lanka – In Lee Kuan Yew’s words

Lee Kuan Yew’s views about Sri Lanka have been published in three books, th