LPL to begin on November 14

2 September 2020 10:41 pm - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


The Lanka Premier League (LPL), Sri Lanka Cricket’s (SLC) franchise based T20 league, will begin on November 14 and run till December 6, SLC confirmed today.

The LPL was supposed to begin last month but the Health Ministry’s insistence that the tournament’s foreign contingency undergo 14 days of quarantine, a condition SLC had hoped they could negotiate on, meant the tournament had to be postponed.

SLC’s statement yesterday which announced the new dates did not mention whether the contingency would still have to undergo two weeks of quarantine upon arrival in the island.

“The 23 match League will be played on (Sic) the 3 international venues of RangiriDambulu (Sic) International Cricket Stadium, Pallekele International Cricket Stadium and Suriyawewa Mahinda Rajapakse International Cricket Stadium. 5 Teams named after the cities of Colombo, Kandy, Galle, Dambulla and Jaffna will participate in the League,” the statement also read. 

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

Focus on Laggala Gem mining big shots bigger than the law

The truth is now being uncovered regarding an illegal mining racket in state

How and why the TNA was formed twenty years ago

The Tamil National Alliance (TNA) is now twenty years of age. The premier pol

India lays emphasis on culture diplomacy with Sri Lanka

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi wanted to inaugurate the Kushinagar Inter

Bittersweet memories of a ‘City that never slept’

At the heart of Eastern Province lies a now abandoned ghost town punctuated w