Golfing sensation Reshan clinches double victory

3 October 2023 01:06 am - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


By Shamseer Jaleel

Golfing sensation and 15-year-old, Reshan Algama, made waves once again, this time at the 86th Nuwara Eliya Golf Club (NEGC) Championship held in Nuwara Eliya.

Fresh from his recent triumph at the Royal Colombo Golf Club Championship, he secured a remarkable double victory, cementing his status as a rising star in the golfing scene.

In an electrifying showdown, Algama demonstrated his exceptional talent and nerves of steel, narrowly edging out seasoned champion Sachin De Silva by a single stroke.

The contest was a thrilling rollercoaster, with Algama clawing back from a four-stroke deficit on the second day (Hole No. 6), eventually tying with Reshan De Silva.

The 17th hole tilted the match in Algama's favour when he made a fabulous birdie under pressure to De Silva’s bogey, which made Reshan go two strokes ahead playing the final 18th.

He then played sensibly and calculated a par on the 18th that sealed his victory at Nuwara Eliya this year.

Meanwhile, Dhanushi Senadhira's dominant performance in the Ladies’ main event at the NEGC Championship not only showcased her remarkable skills but also demonstrated her ability to stay composed under pressure.

Her impressive victory, with a score of 180, left no doubt about her prowess on the golf course, overshadowing the valiant effort of Maleena Awn, who fell just short with a score of 186.

A remarkable highlight of this year's championship was the presence of the youngest golfer, Keshav Algama, aged just 13.

Local boy, Imran Nazeer too stood out at his home course in the Hill Country. Jevahn Sathasivam accounted for the Ogilvy Cup with Nayana Dehigama keeping his hands on the Graeme Sinclair Cup.

Net Winners: Asitha Wijesekera, (Division ‘C’): Nadesan Krishnakumar, (Division ‘B’): Rajitha Siriwardena, (Division ‘A’): Sachin De Silva (157) (Masters and Seniors); Net Runner-Up - D. V. P. Palihena, (Division ‘C’): Suresh Jayasekeran, (Division ‘B’): Tyronne Weerakkody, (Division ‘A’): Lalith Rohith, (Masters and Seniors); Ladies’ D. Senadhira, (Runner-up): Maleena Awn, (Bronze Cup Winner): Jade Jiggens, (Runner-up): Deepani Gamage (Gross Winner); Additional Awards - Nayana Dehigama, (Graeme Sinclair Cup Runner-up): Thusara Rupasinghe, (Ogilvy Cup 2023 Winner): Jevahn Sathasivam, (Ogilvy Cup 2023 Runner-up) Olga Ashley Herath, (NEGC Club Championship 2023 Winner): Reshan Algama (158 gross), (Runner-up): Sachin De Silva (159 gross)


  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment