Maris Stella, Rathnayake MMV emerge champions

13 October 2017 12:18 am - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


Maris Stella College and A. Rathnayake MMV Walala clinched the Boys’ and Girls’ overall titles respectively in the All-Island School Games Athletics Championships which concluded at the Mahinda Rajapaksa Sports Complex in Diyagama on Sunday (15).

Maris Stella collected a total of 105 points and edged-out the defending champions St. Benedict’s College who had to be content with the runners-up place with 97 points to their credit. 

Rathnayake MMV were placed third with a total of 82 points.

Meanwhile, A. Rathnayake MMV retained the Senior Girls’ overall title with a massive total of 187 points to their credit.   

Gateway College Rajagiriya and Sumana Balika MV Ratnapura were placed joint second with a total of 62 points each. 

In the Junior Boys’ overall championship, Sir John Kotelawala MV Kurunegala emerged champions with 37 points followed by Royal College Colombo (20 points) and St. Joseph Vaz College (19 points).

Ave Maria Convent took the Junior Girls’ overall title with a total of 29 points while pushing Sumana Balika MV Ratnapura (23 points) into second place and President’s College Rajagiriya (22 points) into third place. 

Aruna Darshana of Weera Keppetipola Central College Akuranboda was named as the Best Athlete in the Boys’ Championship. 

He won the Under-20, Boys’ 400 metres with a time of 47.19 seconds. 

Hashini Praboda of Good Shepherd Convent Wennappuwa was selected as the Best Athlete in the Girls’ Championship.

She won the Girls’ Under-20 triple jump with an effort of 13.22m.

Meanwhile, Western Province retained the overall championship while collecting a huge 1,268 points.
Central Province with 526 points were placed runners-up while North Western Province with 438 points were placed third.

DAY THREE REPORT: Outstation athletes continue to dominate   

Outstation athletes continued their dominance on the penultimate day of the 33rd All-Island School Games Athletics Championships worked off at the Mahinda Rajapaksa Sports Complex in Diyagama on Saturday (14).

The significant feature was the excellent performances of the Northern Province athletes where they were able to outsmart some of the elite competitors from Colombo.

In fact, Northern Province made a clean sweep in the Under-18 Girls’ pole vault final where C. Herina of Mahajana College Jaffna took the Gold Medal with an effort of 3.10 metres.        

Two competitors from Chavakachcheri Hindu College, S. Shankavy and N. Dakshitha won the Silver Medal and the Bronze Medal respectively in this event with the identical achievement of 2.90m.   

The Gold Medal in the Boys’ Under-14 long jump event also went to the Northern Province with S. Sentheesh of Uduppiddy AMC taking the honours with an achievement of 6.08m.

Meanwhile, A. Rathnayake MMV Walala displayed their prowess in the track events as they made a clean sweep in the Under-18 Girls’ 800m final. 

C. S. Herath powered her way to win the Gold Medal with a time of 2:18.94s followed by her teammates G. N. Jayasinghe (2:19.86s) and P. M. Rathnayake (2:21.6s).

Rathnayake MMV Walala also took the Gold Medal in the Under-18 Boys’ 800m final with H. S. Karunarathne (1:57.90) finishing ahead of his closest rival Ravishka Indrajith of St. Benedict’s College (1:58.31s).

However, Pasindu Mihiranga of Nalanda College brought the Western Province back into recognition by winning the Gold Medal in the Under-20 Boys’ 800m final.  

In addition, Rachintha Perera of Maris Stella College took the Boys’ Under-20 triple jump Gold Medal while Dinura Jayath of St. Peter’s College won the Under-16 Boys’ high jump event.

DAY TWO REPORT: Rathnayake MMV dominates second day    

Rathnayake MMV Walala took an early lead in their attempt to clinch the Senior Boys’ and Girls’ overall titles on the second day of the 33rd All-Island School Games Athletics Championships which continued at the Mahinda Rajapaksa Sports Complex in Diyagama on Thursday (12).

Rathnayake MMV continued their dominance in the track and field events with the Boys’ team collecting a total of 37 points well ahead of their closest rivals St. Mary’s Chilaw with 30 points. 

Maris Stella College and Arunodaya National School Jaffna were placed joint third with 27 points each. 

In the Girls’ championship, Rathnayake MMV obtained a total of 54 points as they built up a clear lead over their nearest rivals Gateway College Rajagiriya who had 39 points to their credit.        

Sumana Balika MV Ratnapura were placed third with a total of 25 points to their credit.      

Meanwhile, in the Junior Boys’ Championship, Sir John Kotelawala MV Kurunegala were in front with a tally of 15 points.

They were followed by Vijitha MMV Dickwella, Dharmapala MV Pannipitiya and Zahira College Mawanella in joint second place with 10 points each.

In the Junior Girls’ Championship, Ave Maria Convent Negombo were well ahead with a total of 24 points.      

Sirimavo BMV, Sujatha BMV Matara, Good Shepherd Convent Panadura and Gonigama MV Rideegama were placed joint second with 10 points each.    

Meanwhile, Western Province with 473 points took a massive lead in the overall championship with Central Province collecting only 178 points followed by Southern Province (142 points).

DAY ONE REPORT: Sadeepa steals the limelight   

Promising athlete Sadeepa Henderson of Gateway College Rajagiriya stole the limelight on the opening day of the 33rd All-Island School Games Athletics Championships which began at the Mahinda Rajapaksa Sports Complex, Diyagama on Wednesday (11).

Sadeepa produced an outstanding performance to win the Gold Medal in the Under-16 Girls’ long jump final with an effort of 5.66 metres.          

This was easily an improved performance from her previous effort of 5.32m which was achieved at the John Tarbet Junior Championships in 2016.

Meanwhile, Pehesara Thenuja of Vijatha MMV Dickwella had the satisfaction of winning the first Gold Medal at this meet. 

Thenuja produced a pleasing performance to bag the Under-12 Boys’ High Jump event with an effort of 1.41m.

Four finals were postponed due to bad weather and these events would be worked off on Thursday (12).       

This year’s meet is conducted under five new age group categories and earlier records will not be considered for recognition. 

Results (finals):
High Jump U-12 Boys’:
1. Pehesara Thenuja (Vijatha MMV Dickwella), 1.41m
2. Nipuna Manodya (Maliyadeva Girls’ College Kurunegala), 1.37m
3. Akitha Prasath Wijesiri (Ganegoda Rajasinghe MV) 1.37m

Long Jump U-12 Girls’:
1. Shihara Sandamini (Good Shepherd Convent Panadura) 4.55m
2. M. A. M. G. Ranasinghe, (Ave Maria Convent Negambo) 4.53m
3. H. A. W. A. Dahamdi (President’s College) 4.27m

Triple Jump U-18 Girls’:
1. Sathsara Sandeepani (President’s Collage) 12.01m
2. G. R. S. P. Karunanayaka (Dippitiya Rajagiri MV) 11.81m
3. Prasadi Lakshani (Holy Cross College Gampaha) 11.40m

High Jump U-20 Girls’: 
1. Poornima Jayamali Gunarathna (Leeds International School–Panadura) 1.68m
2. Randi Himasha Cooray (Gateway International School Rajagiriya) 1.56m
3. Shenali Weerapperuma (St. Lawrence’s BMV Colombo) 1.56m

Javelin Throw U-18 Boys’:
1. V. S. Rajapaksa (A. Rathnayake MMV Walala) 56.20m
2. W. S. A. Fonseka (St. Joseph Vaz College – Wennappuwa) 54.37m
3. Charuka Rukshan (St. Mary’s College – Chilaw) 53.89m

Long Jump U-16 Girls’:
1. Sadeepa Henderson (Gateway College Rajagiriya) 5.66m
2. Sadini Kaveesha (Vijitha MMV Dickwella) 5.44m
3. Bhagya Nilmini (Viharagala MV Sooriyawewa) 5.36m

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment