Bishop’s, Ladies’ hockey clash on Friday

12 October 2017 03:20 pm - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


The 13th Annual Inter-School hockey encounter between the traditional rivals Bishop’s College and Ladies’ College would be worked off at the Astro Turf in Reid Avenue on Friday (13).

The series between these two schools commenced in 2005 and since then there have been some exciting matches played over the years in the Under-17 and Under-19 age group category.

Last year, Bishop’s College displayed their dominance as they won the Under-17 game by a convincing margin of 3-0 while the Under-20 fixture ended in a thrilling 1-1 draw. 

However, overall Ladies’ College have maintained their dominance in this series as they have emerged victorious on seven occasions. 

Bishop’s College of course have won the overall championship only on three occasions while in 2010 and 2014 both schools were declared as joint champions. 

The Ladies’ College Under-19 Team would be captained by Shani Ariyawansa and she would have the services of a couple of experienced players of the calibre of Heshanthi Munasinghe and Shanya Navaratne. 

In addition, the Ladies’ College Under-17 Team would be led by Suhithri Paranamanage and she would have the services of two other senior players Shemiah Karunaratne and Tiyani Gunawardana.

Meanwhile, the Bishop’s College Under-19 Team would be banking heavily on their Skipper Heshani Herath who has a great amount of experience having led the school on many occasions.  

Aanjali Mahikanda would Captain the Bishop’s College Under-17 Team with Sauda Azmi and Sarah Daniel as the two other senior players in the squad.

Ladies College under 17 team (from): Shemaiah Karunaratne (Vice Captain), Suhithri Paranamanage (Captain), Tiani Goonewardene (Vice Captain), Aruni Deraniyagala, Dasunma Mohotti, Seneca Dissanaike, Dinethi Hapudeniya, Thimanya Ellepola, Nayali Karunatilaka, Aksha Parathalingam, Akeesha Rishan, Ravisha Alagaratnam, Neorah Peiris, Rehaya De Silva, Kiara Benjamin, Kiara Abeyratne, Nishara Karunatilake, Sulani De Silva, Kiandra Benjamin, Katelyn De Lile

Ladies College under 19 team (from): Heshanthi Munasinha (Vice Captain), Shani Ariyawansa (Captain), Shanya Navaratne (Vice Captain), Suhithri Paranamanage, Soraya Gunasekera, Shemaiah Karunaratne, Akeesha Rishan, Nihinsa Vidanapathirana, Taahira Lafir, Yumna Azeez, Tiani Goonewardene, Nayali Karunatilaka, Dilsarah Derrik, AruniDeraniyagala, Rehaya De Silva, Kiara Benjamin, Senuri Vidanapathirana, Nishara Karunatilake, Sulani De Silva, Katelyn De Lile

The Bishop’s College under 17 team (from): Suada Azmy (Vice-Captain), Sarah Daniel (Vice-Captain),  Aanjali Mahinkanda (Captain), Ayrah Imtizam, Neamath Masharik, Dakshana Kumararatnam, Shenalee Fernando, Salma Hussain, Manasa Mukesh Shankar, Komuthu Perera, Thohara Wijenaike, Maneesha Panditharatne, Tenuki Samaranayake, Ayangee Abeykoon, Geerthika Rajan, Anika Tennakoon, Anjuli Mahinkanda, Devthilini Fernando, Ranulie Jayasinghe, Bhagya Fernando

The Bishop’ College Under 19 Team: (from) Ayindhie Alles  (Vice-Captain), Heshani Herath (Captain),  Ayrah Imtizam, Punitha Ramanayake, Sarah Daniel, Suada Azmy, Nishika Perera, Salma Hussain, Shennone Gamage, Yumna Ariff, Thohara Wijenaike, Tenuki Samaranayake, Ranulie Jayasinghe, Geerthika Rajan, Aanjali Mahinkanda, Anjuli Mahinkanda, Amasha Saraph, Devthilini Fernando, Shamindri Perera, Binuri Ampemohotti. 

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment