Visakha oust Mahamaya, Joes champs for 16th year

9 September 2019 04:55 pm - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


By M. Shamil Amit

Visakha Vidyalaya, Colombo edged-out favourites Mahamaya College, Kandy to win the Girls’ overall title while St. Joseph’s College retained the Boys’ title for the 16th successive year at the 46th All-Island Schools Swimming and Diving Championships which concluded at the Sugathadasa Indoor Stadium Swimming Pool yesterday (08).

Visakha came out victorious by securing a massive 509 points pushing the defending champions Mahamaya to the second spot with 398 points.

They were followed by Sirimavo Bandaranayake BV (329), Lyceum, Wattala (251) and Musaeus (199).

Meanwhile, St. Joseph’s clinched the Boys’ title by accumulating 453 points and they were followed by traditional rivals St. Peter’s (378.50) Ananda (298), Royal, Colombo (212) and Dharmaraja (147).

Bishop’s College came out on top in the Girls’ Diving Championship by securing 132 points with St. Bridget’s Convent in second (105).

Royal, Colombo emerged Boys’ diving champions with 203 points and their traditional rivals S. Thomas’ were way behind in second with 51 points.

Age Group Champions:


U-10 Girls’: Thomas Cly (Asian Grammar). U-10 Boys’: A. I. Haathim (St. Peter’s). U-12 Girls’: Chanudi Kumarapperuma (I-Gate). U-12 Boys’: Vihanga Caldera (St. Peter’s). U-14 Girls’: Oneli Yahampath (Lyceum, Nugegoda). U-14 Boys’: Bihanda Hansana (Sri Devananda MV, Ambalangoda). U-16 Girls’: Hiruki de Silva (Gateway, Dehiwala). U-16 Boys’: M. K. P. I. Perera (De Mazenod). U-18 Girls’: Ramudi Samarakoon (Visakha). U-18 Boys’: Sandev Senaratne (Ananda). U-20 Girls’: Sandu Savindi (Visakha). U-20 Boys’: Stephan Perera (Gateway, Colombo).


U-14 Girls’: Kisara Ranawaka (St. Bridget’s). U-14 Boys’: Thenuwan Meegalle (Royal). U-16 Girls’: Kithmi Marambe (Bishop’s College). U-16 Boys’: Matheesha Marambe (Royal). U-18 Girls’: Shenuki Wijesiri (Bishop’s College). U-18 Boys’: Abhishek Meegalle (Royal). U-20 Girls: Rishini Gunawardena (St. Bridget’s). U-20 Boys’: Sachin Nilupul (Thurstan). 

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

“The interim government should operate for one year”- Champika Ranawaka

Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) MP Patali Champika Ranawaka in an interview with

Constitutional Reform for ‘System Change’

A peaceful democratic ‘revolution’ is sweeping across Sri Lanka. It is a

Linus Jayatilake (Sept. 1942 - May 2022): A Comrade of all Working PeopLe

I first met Linus Jayatilake about a decade ago as some of us began engaging

Sri Lanka – In Lee Kuan Yew’s words

Lee Kuan Yew’s views about Sri Lanka have been published in three books, th