NOCSL-Crysbro launch ‘Next Champ’ campaign

25 September 2020 01:51 pm - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


By Susil Premalal

The National Olympic Committee of Sri Lanka (NOCSL) yesterday signed a two-year agreement with Crysbro to launch the ‘NOCSL-Crsybro Next Champ’ Scholarship Programme to empower and support the aspirations of young athletes in rural Sri Lanka.

Under the landmark agreement, Crysbro will serve as the sponsor for 20 deserving athletes scouted by NOCSL, with potential to qualify for the Youth Olympic Games 2022, Asian Games and Commonwealth Games 2022 and the next South Asian Games (SAG).

Five young promising athletes have been selected so far by a committee headed by 2000 Sydney Olympic Silver Medallist, Susanthika Jayasinghe and comprising 2008 Commonwealth Youth Games Gold Medallist Shehan Ambepitiya, SAG Gold Medallist Ineka Cooray and 2012 Olympic swimmer Rishika Udugampola.

The next five athletes will be chosen within the next few days while the balance 10 slots will be kept open to be selected from local competitions to be held during the next three months.

The scholarships will cover costs such as nutrition, transportation costs, coaching fees, accommodation, logistic such as clothing, sports gear, and medical expenses necessary for the training, grooming and development of each selected athlete. 


  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

She said/He said

Much has been written and said in the last few days since the news was releas

POLICE ON TRIAL: Exercising Authority without Accountability

Although armed with the power of the State and empowered to use force against

Downfall and death of LTTE’s Mahathaya

The Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam (LTTE) ceased to exist as a functioning

Rishi Sunak; why SL did not have a Tamil or Muslim as President?

Britain now has a British Asian, Hindu Prime Minister, though Rishi Sunak is