Lyceum, Wattala secures Overall Title

10 November 2019 11:17 pm - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


By Susil Premalal

Lyceum, Wattala clinched the Overall Championship at the 25th Inter-International Schools Swimming Championships, 2019 which concluded at the Sugathadasa Stadium Swimming Pool Complex in Colombo today (10).

Lyceum, Wattala finished on top of the medals table out of 18 international schools with a total of 55 medals including 22 Gold, 21 Silver and 12 Bronze Medals.

Meanwhile, Lyceum, Nugegoda emerged runners-up with a total of 46 medals including 16 Gold, 15 Silver and 15 Bronze Medals.

Lyceum, Ratnapura finished in third place after having collected a total of 32 medals including 12 Gold, 13 Silver and 7 Bronze Medals.

Oneli Yahampath of Lyceum, Nugegoda took the individual honours while establishing three new meet records in the Girls’ Under-14 category.

She made a clean sweep and won the Girls’ 200m, Girls’ 50m butterfly stroke and the Girls’ 100m butterfly stroke event respectively.

Age Group Champions

Under-10 Girls’: Induwari Wickramarathna (Lyceum, Ratnapura). Under-10 Girls’: Anuththara Jayasundara (Lyceum, Ratnapura). Under-12 Girls’: Sithuki Yonara (Royal Institute). Under-14 Girls’: Oneli Yahampath (Lyceum, Nugegoda). Under-16 Girls’: Thinaya Jayarathne (Lyceum, Panadura). Under-20 Girls’: Shazna Mahir (Lyceum, Wattala). Under-20 Girls’: Deva Rasmi (Lyceum, Wattala). Under-10 Boys’: Dewvin Yaneth (Royal Institute). Under-10 Boys’: Kewan Ranepura (Lyceum, Ratnapura). Under-12 Boys’: Shewan Abeysinghe (Lyceum, Nugegoda). Under-14 Boys’: Nikhileshwaran Kumaraguru (Asian International School). Under-16 Boys’: Kithmal Amarasinghe (Elizabeth Moir School). Under-16 Boys’: Anusara Abeygoonawardana (Royal Institute). Under-20 Boys’: Dhinal Weerasinghe (Colombo International School).

Individual records (Day-2):

Under-14: Oneli Yahampath (Lyceum, Nugegoda) – Girls’ 200m. Under-16: Thinaya Jayarathne (Lyceum, Panadura) – Girls’ 50m backstroke. Under-12: Kashica Vaishalini (St. Nicholas’) – Girls’ 50m butterfly. Under-14: Oneli Yahampath (Lyceum, Nugegoda) – Girls’ 50m butterfly.

Under-12: Sithuki Yonara (Royal Institute) – Girls’ 50m backstroke. Under-20: Deva Rasmi (Lyceum, Wattala) – Girls’ 200m freestyle. Under-16: Thinaya Jayarathne (Lyceum, Panadura) – Girls’ 100m backstroke. Under-14: Oneli Yahampath (Lyceum, Nugegoda) – Girls’ 100m butterfly. 


  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment