Knockout rounds from Sunday

16 April 2021 07:02 pm - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


By M. Shamil Amit

The league matches of the Under 19 inter-schools limited over tournament has come to an end and now the focus will be on the knockout stage with the quarter-finals of the Division One and Two scheduled to be conducted from Sunday.   

In the Tier ‘A’ Division One Royal College Colombo along with Nalanda College, St. Anthony’s College Katugastota, Trinity College, Mahanama College Colombo, St. Sebastian’s College Moratuwa, Richmond College and St. Joseph’s College were the teams to qualify while St. Peter’s College along with Dharmasoka MV Ambalangoda, Devapathiraja MMV Rathgama, Isipathana College, Mahinda College Galle, St. Joseph Vaz Wennappuwa, Ananda College and St. Anthony’s College were the teams to qualify in the Tier ‘B’ segment. 
In the Tier ‘A’ Division Two category Sri Sumangala Panadura along with Piliyandala Central, Dharmaloka MV Kelaniya, Holy Cross College Kalutara, St. John’s College Panadura, Siri Piyaratana MMV Padukka, Rahula Matara and Lyceum IS Wattala were the eight teams to make it to the quarters with Sri Jayawardenapura MMV Kotte, President’s College Kotte, Revatha MMV Balapitiya, P. de S. Kularatne MV Ambalangoda, Bandaranayake MV Gampaha, Royal College Panadura, St. Thomas Matale and Taxila Central Horana qualifying in Tier ‘B’. The knockout stage will commence Sunday with a clash in the Division Two Tier ‘B’ segment with Sri Jayawardenapura MV Kotte meeting President’s College Kotte at Campbell Park. The Division One Tier ‘A’ segment will start off on April 19 with two matches down for decision being Royal Colombo vs. Nalanda at Mt Lavinia, Trinity vs. St.Sebastian’s at Reid Avenue and St. Anthony Katugastota vs. Mahanama Colombo at Kurunegala, St. Joseph’s vs. Richmond at Wijerama Mawatha to be played on April 20.

The other scheduled matches  

Division One:
Tier ‘B’

April 21- St. Peter’s vs. Dharmasoka MV Ambalangoda at Galle   
Devapathiraja MMV Rathgama vs. Isipathana at Wijerama Mawatha   
Mahinda vs. St. Joseph Vaz Wennappuwa at Moratuwa   
Ananda vs. St. Anthony’s Wattala at Bambalapitiya  
Division Two
Tier ‘A’:

April 19- Rahula College Matara vs. Lyceum IS at Darley Road   
April 21- Sri Sumangala Panadura vs. Piliyandala Central at Kandy, Sri Dharmaloka MV Kelaniya vs. Holy Cross Kalutara at Campbell Place   
April 22- St. John’s Panadura vs. Siri Piyaratana MMV Padukka at Wattala   

Tier ‘B’:
April 20- Royal Panadura vs. Bandaranayake MV Gampaha at Kandy   
April 21- Revatha MMV Balapitiya vs. P. de S. Kularatne MV Ambalangoda at Campbell Place, St. Thomas Matale vs. Taxila Central Horana at Kurunegala   

Semi-final and Final Schedule:

Division One: 
Tier A – Semi-finals on April 28 at Moratuwa and Maggona and Final on May 1 at NCC   
Tier B – Semi-finals on April 25 at BRC and Thurstan and Final on May 2 at NCC 
Division Two:
Tier ‘A’– Semi-finals on April 25 at Thurstan and Moratuwa and Final on April 30 at Maggona   
Tier ‘B’– Semi-finals on April 26 at Maggona and Moratuwa and Final on April 29 at BRC

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment