FFSL President’s Cup 2020 quarter-finals to be held at Sugathadasa Stadium

21 August 2020 07:50 pm - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


By Susil Premalal

The quarter-finals of the Vantage FFSL President’s Cup 2020 tournament organized by the Football Federation of Sri Lanka will take place at the Sugathadasa Stadium on Sunday August 23 and Monday August 24. Two matches will be played on each day commencing at 4pm and 7pm.

Group A champions Java Lane SC will meet Group C leaders Defenders SC in the opening quarter-final.

Both teams have an identical record of two wins and a draw in the league round.

Blue Eagles SC, the only side to gain a maximum of three wins in the round robin stage, will take on Group B champions New Star SC under lights on the first day of the quarter-finals. New Star SC are also unbeaten having won two and drawn one.

Colombo FC who emerged as the runner-up team from Group E after a solitary loss to Blue Eagles take on reigning FA Cup champions Police SC who topped Group D in the third quarter-final.

The fourth quarter-final will be between the two other runner-up teams in the group stages Red Stars FC and Serendib SC under lights.

This is the first time a major football competition is being held after the coronavirus outbreak with the participation of 20 leading clubs in the country who were divided into five groups.

The tournament is being played within closed doors, following strict health regulations because of the coronavirus.

Matches are being streamed live through FFSL’s official YouTube channel ‘Sri Lanka Football TV’.

Quarter-final fixtures

August 23

  • 4.00pm Java Lane SC v Defenders FC
  • 7.00pm Blue Eagles v New Star SC

August 24

  • 4.00pm Colombo FC v SL Police SC
  • 7.00pm Red Stars FC v Serendib SC

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment