Cricket World Cup 2007

25 June 2019 04:24 pm - 0     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


Australia retained the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2007 when they defeated Sri Lanka by 53 runs on the Duckworth and Lewis scoring method in the final. Australia compiled 281 for four from 38 overs and Sri Lanka managed to score only 215 for eight from 36 overs in this rain curtailed finale.

Glenn McGrath, the linchpin of Australian attack, was declared Player of the Series for his 26 wickets while teammate Mathew Hayden scored the most runs (659). The tournament started on a bitter note in the West Indies with the death of Pakistan coach Bob Woolmer, who was found dead in his hotel room on March 18, a day after his team’s defeat to Ireland put them out of the running for the World Cup. 

The 16 competing teams were divided into four groups with two top finishers from each group moving on to a Super Eight format. The teams were Australia, England, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, New Zealand, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Bermuda, Canada, Kenya, Ireland, Netherlands and Scotland. 

  Comments - 0

Add comment

Comments will be edited (grammar, spelling and slang) and authorized at the discretion of Daily Mirror online. The website also has the right not to publish selected comments.

Reply To:

Name - Reply Comment

A Sri Lankan giving dignified burials to unclaimed bodies for five decades

After their death, most people are memorialized at a service, surrounded by g

Focus on Laggala Gem mining big shots bigger than the law

The truth is now being uncovered regarding an illegal mining racket in state

How and why the TNA was formed twenty years ago

The Tamil National Alliance (TNA) is now twenty years of age. The premier pol

India lays emphasis on culture diplomacy with Sri Lanka

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi wanted to inaugurate the Kushinagar Inter